• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [Q] HTC Desire from China can't figure how to root and install new rom.

bbrackrog

Lurker
Jan 30, 2011
Good Day,
I am a US Teacher teaching abroad in Rome and a noob to the android scene. I bought the HTC Desire on eBay from a seller in China who advertised a rooted and unbranded HTC Desire. When I received the phone it came with an Italian operating system and Windows Mobile 6.
The problem is i do not speak Italian yet and would like to root and install another rom. Being new to this i have looked up countless forum articles on this but i can't even get the phone to boot in hboot turning on phone and holding down back button does nothing nor does holding down the - volume button and power when starting phone and i can't find the usb debegging option either. I have included as much about the phone as i could find and would greatly appreciate any help with this. Trust me i have spent 2 weeks trying to find a fix on my own.

HTC DESIRE INFO:

Model No. V1.0.1-B7
Platform: Pocket PC
IMEI 850850690163042
ROM C03.021.13 ITA
ROM DATE 2010-11-19
Radio Version 4-16-2010 20:16:30
Protocol Version BASE_W09.20_P4
CPU SnapDragon QSD8250

thank you so much for your time.

Nope - this definitely isn't a Desire, sorry to say. Fortunately, when my mate bought one, Paypal reversed the transaction, and he got the money back. Register on Paypal\Ebay STRAIGHT AWAY, marking the item 'Significantly not as described'. Point out that they've used the terminology\description of an HTC Desire to sell an item that is NOT a Desire, and is a cheap Chinese knock off.

Make sure if you're posting the item back, to send it registered, as that way you'll have proof of posting.

Upvote 0
You shoul've research the Desire's specs before you buy, I don't think the ROM can run another OS.