Quake III on Evo


Last Updated:

  1. ODog2323

    ODog2323 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    41
    I wanted to see what this phone could really do when pushed, so I went and got the Quake 3 apk for android and went through the installation process. While I was able to get the game running it was pretty unusable. I've seen many videos of this game running much nicer on some older devices...

    My questions is then what am I missing here, or is the Evo just not cut out for this kind of action??

    I did kill all my tasks, and that made things better, but still far from playable.

    Anyone else do any experimenting with this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    114
    It's not. Psp ftw!
     
  3. newone757

    newone757 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    134
    30 fps cap probably
     
    zamardii12 likes this.
  4. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    the gpu on the evo sucks. the only down fall of the phone. and its only a downfall if you wanna play games on your phone. some do some dont. i know i would love to have some games on my evo like the iphone has. everyone is gonna say get a psp or why would you wanna play games on your cell phone but for me its nice to have everything all in one package. i hope htcs next evo has a better gpu
     
  5. Headcase_Fargone

    Headcase_Fargone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    7
    I guess that means we won't be seeing anything like Archetype on the Evo...
     
  6. ODog2323

    ODog2323 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    41
    Bummer, I agree. I'm not a huge phone gamer, but every so often those more graphically intense games and apps are great.

    Maybe we'll see some performance boost with Froyo at least?
     
  7. Headcase_Fargone

    Headcase_Fargone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah I never play games on my phones but I have to admit watching my coworkers play Archetype it looked pretty cool. Oh well.
     
  8. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    The new Samsung galaxy S series is supposed to be more game friendly, if that is important to you. I am not much of a game player except on my pc.
     
  9. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    As others have stated, the 30fps cap will make Q3 unplayable.
     
  10. Neplusultra

    Neplusultra Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    Froyo will increase performance, but shooters will not be the best quality as long as our fps is capped.

    Sent from my Evo using Tapatalk.
     
  11. Headcase_Fargone

    Headcase_Fargone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm not convinced the fps cap would cause it to be unplayable. 30fps is plenty for a first person shooter on a phone. Sounds like our GPU is just a little gimpy.
     
  12. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    30fps is not good enough for Q3, sorry. Unless of course you're used to losing.
     
  13. zamardii12

    zamardii12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    65
    It's the FPS Cap...
     
  14. newone757

    newone757 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    134

    30 fps is not "good enough" for any 3d game, let alone a fast one like any fps. not to mention its not even a constant 30 fps, it jumps all over the place
     
  15. ExigeDriver

    ExigeDriver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    isn't Halo3 30fps?
     
  16. r3dDaWn

    r3dDaWn Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    Actually, code is a big part of this as well. If you look at a game such as Exzeus, that is a very intense, beautiful game that runs very well on the Evo. The game's code is very optimized, they even went beyond Android's memory set limitation, all via how they wrote the code, and if you run it on your Evo, you can see a very detailed, high quality graphics, type game, that plays with that 30fps cap. Now not all games will have developers that can code as well as these guy's, but it does show, that if coders did a better job, the gpu won't be as big of an issue for Evo owners as it is currently with some games.. Quake 3 though isn't even optimized, it's a "code of concept" game, and I have no idea if the developer is going to continue working on it or not, plays okay on the Droid, nothing to write mom about though...
     
  17. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    Correction, the 30 FPS cap is due to wonky and half-written drivers from HTC. They are actually refusing to fix this, and are following suit with, "This was intentional, because of the HDMI port.". That's BS, because XDA got it WELL over 30, even with butt ****ed drivers, and the HDMI out works. Go figure. We bought broken phones, that are going to remain broken. That is, unless you're willing to go out and spend time to root it.
     
  18. newone757

    newone757 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    134
  19. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
  20. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    64
    Guys, the 30fps cap is not the issue here, it's not even running at 30fps. Stop blaming every single issue on the 30fps cap.
     
    tmaxey1 and ODog2323 like this.
  21. ODog2323

    ODog2323 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    41
    I agree 30fps is nothing like a good console or PC experience, but i don't think that issue is in play here at all. This was more akin to watching a slideshow than measuring fps :)
     
  22. kaisies

    kaisies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    27
  23. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    I grabbed the first HD video I noticed. I wasn't concerned about map control or how terrible his opponents were ;P

    Do you play on QL?
     
  24. geomens

    geomens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just a correction here, some people bought a broken phone because it does not do what they expect it to do, others bought a phone that does what they expect it to do and therefore to them, the phone is not broken.
     
  25. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    ^That.

    It'd be one thing if specs were released that stated 60fps, but specs were NOT released. Nothing's broken on the phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...