Question about A2SD


Last Updated:

  1. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    OK, so I'd like to know from everyone using A2SD..

    Does it really work on these phones?
    I remember reading someones post that A2sd is not really ready.. or doesn't work well on these phones.
    He said something like A2sd actually slows down the phone a bit... but then with OC it's kind of a wash...Sorry, i can't find the thread, but I remember it coming from a established member here.

    I had a2sd working on one rom.. but didn't really like that rom and switch to Fresh.
    I didn't follow the steps properly so I ended up with Fresh, but without A2SD. However, this is is crazy fast. even with only about 45 MB of internal memory available. Not missing A2SD.
    Do I really need it?

    I ask because I'm planning on switching roms again and was thinking of skipping A2SD...
    Unless i can get convinved otherwise.

    What do you guys think about it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    you dont NEED it, but it makes things much easier, you can go from an a2sd rom to another a2sd rom without losing your installed apps, you can go from a non a2sd rom to an a2sd rom also without having to reinstall your apps, and im pretty sure i could find a way to go to an a2sd rom to a non a2sd rom without losing them either.

    sorry if that was confusing, what i mean is you can switch roms in any combination without losing your installed apps. i think it makes your phone much faster, and after we got it working it works fine. froyo is coming with stock a2sd support, would they add it if it wasnt important?
     
  3. anderson620

    anderson620 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    4
    Alright...Using EE 2.0.1; have apps2sd installed. With it installed I have 63.55 MB internal storage; If I remove a2sd I have 20.44 MB of storage. Apps2SD is obviously doing something, but should the internal memory be this low? Thanks.
     
  4. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    no, with 31 apps installed i still had around 97MB

    try moving the dalvik cache to the sd card. make a nand backup first just in case.
    debugging mode on
    cd sdk tools directory
    adb shell
    /system/bin/a2sd check

    if any of the little boxes has a X instead of a * in it then run
    /system/bin/a2sd repair

    the reboot to recovery and clear wipe dalvik cache and you should be good
     
  5. anderson620

    anderson620 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks. Seems to have worked. Internal memory jumped to 121.
     
  6. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    if things start to slow down for you, sometimes people with the class 2 SD cards report a lag with the dalvik cache on the sd card, all you need to do is open terminal on the phone, and type
    a2sd no cache
    then reboot o recovery and wipe dalvik and reboot
     
  7. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Thanks Andrizoid...

    So are these the steps for getting a2sd working?
    To get apps2sd to work you need to:
    1. backup your sd card(copy all your files on to pc)
    2. boot into recovery
    3. select Partition sd card
    4. select Partition sd
    5. when that is done select SD:ext2 to ext3 you can use the default values when it asks
    6. Flash rom then you can copy all your files back to your sd card.


    I noticed none of these roms have these instruction included...
    Wasn't sure is this process happens automatically now when flasing rom?
    Or maye they figure we should all know this by now:D
     
  8. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357


    these are the steps for partitioning the SD card, the actual A2SD code is handled in the init.rc file in the boot.img

    those steps only need to be followed the very first time you use an a2sd ROM
    think of it as setup. and no, it doesnt happen automatically, i think the devs just expect you to know to partition your sd card before trying.
     
  9. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    Can someone explain to a noob exactly how to get apps2sd. Im clueless, I have aloysius rom.
     
  10. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    switch roms. xD
     
  11. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    OK... so without those steps the A2sd wont kick in? Currently not using A2sd, but planning on switching roms tonight.

    Also, i remember a thread (i believe you chimed in on it) stating that the apps are not saved when going from one a2sd rom to another a2sd rom.
    or am i not remembering this correctly?
     
  12. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    ya, without these steps nothing will happen.
    and apps ARE saved going from a2sd to non a2sd
    if your not using a2sd right now but want a rom that is using it, thers also a way to switch your apps over. which rom are you planning on switching to? theres a few that say a2sd works but ive had to fix the scripting before it actually kicked in
     
  13. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Aloysious

    Seems to be a good rom...
     
  14. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    non a2sd though.

    i recommend evil eris or zenxp. both roms worked perfectly, i didnt have to change anything to get it to work. all of conaps roms, lightening and lightening bolt also work with it no problem.

    i got senseable to work with it on my phone but wasnt able to get it packaged into a zip, no update script was working with it for some reason.
     
  15. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    I got rid of aloysius, It was nice but i was left with 94mb of app memory BEFORE installing all my apps...no thanks lol. I'm back to the eris21official-root rom...Can I use a2sd on that? If so how?
     
  16. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    not on that one either, stock doesnt have a way of calling up a2sd

    really, i recommend one of these

    1. evil eris
    2. lightening
    3. lightening bolt
    4. zenexp

    looks like aloysius DOES have a2sd, my mistake
    5. aloysius
    6. IC3

    even senseless is working with a2sd after you flash darktremors a2sd package
     
  17. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    15
    sorry to ask this really nooby question but how do you do A2SD?

    i was searching around a bit and i could find any plain old instructions.
     
  18. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    what do you mean how do you do it?
     
  19. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    15
    how do you move your apps to your sdcard and then back? is there some app for it or what?
     
  20. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    no, a2sd install and a2sd remove does that
    its all automatically done.
     
    ljbaumer likes this.
  21. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    15
    ok thanks
     
  22. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    yup.
    just gotta have your sd card partitioned and be using an a2sd enabled rom
     
  23. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    i know how to find partition sd card, my question is what does partitioning do?
     
  24. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    sets up a little "box" on your SD card that your apps are installed onto. a2sd then links the /system/data/app to the partition on your sd card so your phone thinks its all the same thing.
     
  25. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ok I have aloysius again, how i download a2sd Mom aim aim installed? I partitioned my sd card already.
     

Share This Page

Loading...