Question about Android 2.0


Last Updated:

  1. PeteIRL

    PeteIRL New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm thinking about buying a HTC Hero, sim-free. I just have a question about the upcoming release of Android 2.0. If I were to buy a Hero now, the version of Android would be 1.5 or 1.6. When Android 2.0 is released, will I be able to get it on the Hero I buy now? Will the phone go from 1.5/6 to 2.0 easily? I know HTC are working on Sense for 2.0, but I presume that'll just be a firmware update.

    Sorry if this seems like a noob-ish question, but I'm no techie when it comes to HTC and Android!

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. afonja

    afonja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    7
    Android 2.0 is already released.
    If you buy a new HTC Hero it will has an Android 1.5(HTC will skip Android 1.6)
    When HTC will finish polishing Sense UI for Android 2.0 everyone can update it.
    We all hope that it will go easily but I think that all information will be erased from your phone after update so it is recommended to make a backup before.
     
  3. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    Spoke to orange today and they are talking early 2010

    Which in my book is a waste of time.
     
  4. afonja

    afonja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    7
    I don't see relation between Orange, HTC and new Sense UI with Android 2.0.

    So how they can talk about anything?
     
  5. andy d

    andy d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    18
    It has to through your carrier so they can add there bits.
    In my case its orange.
     
  6. Quazar

    Quazar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    29
    It doesn't have to. I got my phone from orange but it isn't branded with any orange software. Orange will take a while to add their bits to their firmware version though. Glad I don't have their branding!
     
  7. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,390
    Likes Received:
    16,500
    Actually, adding a splash screen and a half-dozen bookmarks will take all of five minutes. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...