Question about factory wipes & backup/restoresSupport


Last Updated:

  1. kjarrett

    kjarrett Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    29
    Ok, I'm dyin' for 2.2 but don't want to mess with RUU or root or anything like that so I'm going to wait for the OTA ... but want to be ready to do a factory wipe if needed after the update. I have:

    - all my contacts in Google
    - Astro File Manager & app backups
    - Backups of my pics (not many)

    My plan:

    - Wait for OTA
    - Do a factory reset
    - Reconfigure network etc.
    - Import Google contacts
    - Reinstall Astro & restore apps (will it 'see' the existing backups?)
    - Rebuild stuff

    Questions:

    - What about home screens? Is there any way to back them up?
    - What about the phone settings? Gonna be a PITA to remember everything I've tweaked to this point.

    Thanks!

    -kj-
     

    Advertisement
  2. CBLJazz

    CBLJazz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    7
    QUESTION FOR YOU
    why do a reset if you don't need to?

    What ever you decide use APP BRAIN to backup your apps.
    AppBrain - the best Android apps and games on the Android market

    ANSWERS-
    1. Google will ensure your contacts are safe
    2. photos should be on the sd card- you can transfer the ones in phone memory to the card.
    phone memory photos are in the DCIJM folder.

    your hone screens will be gone.
     
  3. kjarrett

    kjarrett Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    29
    Awesome thanks - I have an AppBrain account - just synced - so - I can wipe, install AppBrain, then have it do all the installs?

    Guess I to take pics of all my home screens with my digital camera. No root for me!

    -kj-
     
  4. kyler13

    kyler13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    284
    How do you back up text messages?
     
  5. FramCire

    FramCire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    173
    No need to wipe phone
     
  6. serpentine009

    serpentine009 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    35
    I just did a backup, recently. I used the "backup settings" feature in the apps that had it. Also used mybackup pro, free trial, to backup apps and settings and home screens. About 90% came thru on restore. I had some other issues, but that was mostly because i did the factory reset to change the main google account assoc. with phone. I switched to google apps. I would write down the steps and do it 1 by 1. U should be fine.
     
  7. TXSooner

    TXSooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    12
    In a couple of threads there are people saying that the phone performs much better if doing a factory wipe after installing the OTA. That is why the OP is asking this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...