Question about Jailbreaking


Last Updated:

  1. FurryG1

    FurryG1 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all

    I have had my G1 a few months and find it ever more impressive by the day :p I've seen Jailbreaking and Cupcake being tossed around a lot and was wanting to do it, but I am on a contract with T-Mobile, if I jailbroke can they detect it? I am guessing that my warranty would be broken (for software problems) but is there any chance of them suddenly shutting my account off saying that im running a jailbroken phone?

    Thanks :)

    Chris
     

    Advertisement
  2. pacothebandit

    pacothebandit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey i litterally just posted the following in another post....

    CHECK THIS ISH OUT
     
  3. FurryG1

    FurryG1 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. pacothebandit

    pacothebandit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    6
  5. yakult

    yakult Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all. I just bought T-Mobile G1 from ebay about a week ago and already unlocked it and I'm using Vodafone UK as my network provider.

    My question is, can I remove the T-Mobile boot up logo by jailbreaking it?

    Because I'm using Vodafone UK, can I still get the automatic system update?

    My G1 firmware version is 1.5 & Build Number is CRB17. Does it mean I'm currently have the latest version?

    Thanks for your help
     
  6. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I dont think the current root builds do anything with the T-Mobile Splash or the Android Splash ... but who cares ... (i dont) ..

    My current rooted phone will/not get OTA auto-updates and I dont theink any of them will ... that's why the are rooted and to protect them from being loaded with a standard build would defeat that purpose ...

    I am not sure about your exact version ... I am in the US .... but one of EU members should be able to confirm that Ver/Build ....
     
  7. yakult

    yakult Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Understood. It's just that i feel annoyed looking at T-Mobile logo and I want to replace it with better splash :D

    Thanks for the reply btw:)
     
  8. mmikeyy

    mmikeyy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Actually yes you can replace the t-mobile image on startup, check this thread out
     

Share This Page

Loading...