question about rooting 2.1


Last Updated:

  1. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    15
    I am on 2.1 ddo3 and have all my apps installed and running, if I want to root will it "erase" everything or can I root without disrupting the apps? thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. zippy

    zippy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    18
    Following the thread "rooting for dummies" I did this exact thing last ight and yes it did wipe everything.
     
  3. Sphagnum

    Sphagnum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    7
    Going from DD03 to DD10 does not wipe the phone, it's merely an update/patch. Rooting is the same. The only thing that wipes the phone is installing the DD03 that you say you've already done.
     
    kiddk1 likes this.
  4. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    15
    cool, thanks, so should I go to dd10 first then root?
     
  5. cesar424

    cesar424 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Based on what it says in the Guide in the other thread. DD10 will undo root, so you would want to do the dd10 update first.
     
  6. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    15
    can someone link me the thread rooting for dummies, I searched but did not see it
     
  7. Sphagnum

    Sphagnum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    7
  8. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    15
    thanks Sphagnum, I can leave it on DD03 and root also correct?

    EDIT, I left it on dd03 and rooted, all is working so far, checked it with connectbot and the $ turned into #
     

Share This Page

Loading...