Question about shortcutsGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Wizard59

    Wizard59 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    18
    Does anyone know if it is possible to set a shortcut to a web page on your home screen instead of loading browser and opening favorites? If so what is the easiest way to do that?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,528
    Likes Received:
    4,276
    Long press the home screen, select shortcuts, select bookmarks, select desired bookmark.

    (atleast that's how it works with adw)
     
    Wizard59 and mysticspiral like this.
  3. Wizard59

    Wizard59 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    18
    Sorry for delayed response but work has kept me really busy this week. I thought it was that easy but that isn't working with my launcher. Guess when I redo phone tomorrow I will be changing back to adw.
     
  4. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    I believe it's gonna depend on what browser you use also because i use ADW EX with Boat Browser and i don't get the bookmark option in my shortcuts.
     
    wyelkins, Wizard59 and Lordvincent 90 like this.
  5. Rarewolf

    Rarewolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    152
    Go to the browser.
    Open favorites/bookmarks long-press the desired webpage.
    Pop up menu should appear. The fourth one should say add to homescreen.
    IM using stock browser.
     
    Wizard59 and wyelkins like this.
  6. wyelkins

    wyelkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    438
    Well Done, Rare (pun intended)! This also works with Boat and ADW EX. I don't usually want to do this but it is good to know how!


    Minor detail but with Boat, the Pop up menu is different and it is the 7th of 8 options.
     
    wetbiker7 likes this.
  7. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    Thanks for verifying that it works for that specific combination of apps, Wy. That's good to know just in case I ever decide to add one.
     
  8. Rarewolf

    Rarewolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    152
    I did this for facebood cause it got kind of annoying having to click it on favorites. Lolz

    Plus i don't use the app cause its a waste of space.
     
  9. wyelkins

    wyelkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    438
    I could see adding a FB website Shortcut to the ADW EX Dock. Not a bad idea.
     
  10. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    Fortunately I don't have the space issue that you guys have. I've got a ton of apps installed and still got 2.1gb of internal left not to mention the 16gb sd crd. Hell, I've only got 2 1/2gb left on it though. Lol gotta have my music! :p:D
     
  11. wyelkins

    wyelkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    438
    Now you are just showing off, old Buddy. Lol. Just Kidding. I will get another phone one day, but I am thrilled that my Prevail is still functional!

    Every Army needs someone to walk point. Keep us posted on what to buy and more importantly what NOT to buy.

    Only problem that I see with using Browser shortcuts on the Dock though is how to give each a distinct icon.
     
  12. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,528
    Likes Received:
    4,276
    If you're using adw, just double tap the shortcut while is on the dock bar, select edit and touch the picture... the it will give you the option to replace the icon with the image of your choice
     
    wyelkins likes this.
  13. wyelkins

    wyelkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    438
    Thank you Lord. No blasphemy meant. Good to know.
     
  14. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,528
    Likes Received:
    4,276
    Lol
     
  15. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    I just read this and was gonna say the same thing LV said. It's very easy to change the icons with ADW EX. I do it all the time. :)



    You can also long-press the icons when they are on the homescreen and it will give you the option to edit them. Just make sure that you have a couple of themes for ADW so you will have something to choose from. :p

    You can use many of the Go Themes with ADW. That helps out alot!
     
    wyelkins likes this.
  16. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,528
    Likes Received:
    4,276
    Actually... with the new update to adw... you have to double click desktop items now too :p
     
    wetbiker7 likes this.
  17. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    You are absolutely correct buddy. That was one of the changes they made. :D
     
  18. Rarewolf

    Rarewolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    152
    Lolz i don't need to change the icon. So IM good. Plus i have donut launcher +
     

Share This Page

Loading...