Question about the G1 wlan/wifiGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. JonLe3

    JonLe3 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I have not been able to try my g1 on a security certificate required Wifi network yet.

    My wifi at my University requires a security certificate to connect.

    I believe it is EAP-PEAP.


    Let me know,

    Thanks guys!

    -Jon
     

    Advertisement
  2. JonLe3

    JonLe3 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    NVM i am so sorry. i found it out like 3 minutes after posting!!!


    for anyone was looking : it is no, the g1 doesn't support eap-peap/802.1x yet.

    again, sorry for the nuisance!
     
  3. SK.

    SK. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't think there is any need to apologise as you had a question a relevant one and then managed to answer it yourself.

    The good thing is you posted up what you found out and that may help someone in the future who may be looking for the same info.

    It's what forums are about.
     
  4. ridhishguhan

    ridhishguhan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I'm looking for support of this kind too. You see, my office WLAN requires

    " EAP-TLS security and authentication protocol (802.11i).Phone should support WPA or WPA2 with EAP-TLS authentication ".

    Any idea if this is supported ? Apparently we need to install some certificates before we can access the WLAN.
     
  5. phonecard44

    phonecard44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Certainly if in our forum every one accept their responsibility in this manner than there will be no problem of spam and we will be able to get the relevant information as fast as possible.
     
  6. balazer

    balazer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you can configure whatever wifi security you need (including those that require a certificate) using an app in the marketplace called Wifi Helper. Root access is required.
     
  7. hjkjhjk

    hjkjhjk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi to everyone!
    I'am looking for configure the Wifi of my university that have this features:

    - autentication: WPA
    - criptography: TKIP
    - additional security certificate
    - proxy limitations

    How you can help me?
    Thank you
     
  8. balazer

    balazer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Android 1.6 (Donut) supports those kinds of WiFi encryption, as does CyanogenMod 4.x. Older versions of Android can use them with the WiFi Helper app, on a rooted phone.

    I don't know what you mean by proxy limitations.
     
  9. hjkjhjk

    hjkjhjk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a newbye of Android, so excuse me if I make stupid question... ;)
    however I've bought HTC Hero...so I suppose that there is Android 1.6 on board...but in the configuration pane I don't see any option about criptography and certificates...where do I have to look?

    for proxy limitations I mean that in order to use any program I had to set the proxy of the university...
     
  10. balazer

    balazer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know what version of Android the Hero has. In my CyanogenMod, if I go to "Add Wi-Fi network", it gives me many choices for Security. I'm not sure if there is built-in support for TKIP with a certificate, or if you'll need to run WiFi Helper with root access.

    The Browser in Android can be configured to go through a proxy, but most other applications cannot. If your wireless network does not allow direct access to the internet, you might try using a VPN connection.
     
  11. hjkjhjk

    hjkjhjk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is an application to do this?
     
  12. balazer

    balazer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the app Anycut, create a shortcut to the activity 'Proxy settings'.
     
  13. Michel Dover

    Michel Dover Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check the version in Settings/About Phone/Firmware
     
  14. hjkjhjk

    hjkjhjk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Android 1.5

    when I go to Settings->Wi-Fi Settings->Advanced->Security Certificates and then I click on "Add Certificate" it simply does nothing....

    so how I can add the certificate?
     
  15. balazer

    balazer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pay attention. If your Android is less than 1.6, you need a rooted phone with WiFi Helper to use those kinds of encryption.
     
  16. hjkjhjk

    hjkjhjk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    aha! so that's the problem!
    ok thank you...I'm going to root my phone and then I will retry to configure that WIFI... ;)
     
  17. deviouskoopa

    deviouskoopa Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same problem trying to add a TLS certificate (filetype .p12). When I try to click "add certificate", nothing happens, just a black screen... should the certificate be placed in a certain folder for something to happen or what? It's just on my SD card at the moment.
     
  18. hjkjhjk

    hjkjhjk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, I've tried to manage my phone in order to get root access but after a number of failed attempts and lots of searches I've found an article that stated that HTC Hero's ROM (italian version) is blocked against modification...

    So there is any possibility to add any certificate?
     
  19. hjkjhjk

    hjkjhjk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    any idea?
     

Share This Page

Loading...