Question about: Update available for appsGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. mc48

    mc48 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    36
    Many times it seems I will get notification that an app (such as chompsms or twidroyd) has updates just a day or two after i just updated that app because I rec'd a notification. I know you can check the version number and some apps even tell you what is being updated, but i never know what the latest build number is anyway so I always just push update anyway.

    So, I guess my question is, when I receive these notifications on consecutive days like that are they really just the same update and does it hurt to dl the update if you already have?

    and why the heck do they do that anyway?
     

    Advertisement
  2. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    Sometimes there are updates on consecutive days ... many times its because a user found a bug in the new update and the dev fixes it and sends out a new update. It doesnt hurt anything to run updates.
     
  3. Hypo Luxa

    Hypo Luxa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    32
    The updates usually just remove teh old and install the new ver right?
     
  4. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    The new version over rights the old ... so yes
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Yeah, I hear you. Weather Bug Elite gets updated often, as does Maps.

    I get a feeling of distrust when I see that prompt in the notification bar, I admit. But, I go ahead with it in most cases.

    I want to add this, and I was about to post a query in a new thread, Launcher Pro's last update created some items in the menus that, when pressed, elicit a nag for "Launcher Pro Plus," at a cost of so-and-so dollars, something that I suppose we should support.

    That nag also appears on the home screen if you inadvertently stretch a widget, as if to resize instead of move.

    The developer deserves money. I'm trying to think of better ways he could go about it, though.
     
  6. padrone00

    padrone00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do you get updates for apps that you reinstall from your SD card? Because they do not show up in your Market as an app that you have downloaded.

    I've flashed a couple of different Rom's and didn't know if I was missing something here.
     
  7. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Good point; I've kept the SetCpu apk on my sd card since I first purchased it following one of my first ROM flashes.. it's an old version that has never been prompted for an update and it's seen many ROMs since then. ;)

    It works fine.
     
  8. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    To be fair to the guy, his major issue is that he lives in a country for which for-pay apps in the Android Market are not yet allowed by Google, so he has no easy way to get people to buy his app from the market.
     
  9. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Good piece of info to have, doogald; I did not know that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...