question for an ota adopterGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. whitewallman

    whitewallman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    62
    Hello,
    Could someone who installed the 2.1 ota please describe their lockscreen? Ie: the unlock banner that you swipe down to unlock.. beside the date and time, does it also say Verizon Wireless on the top edge of the banner? On leak v3 it doesn't.
    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. tproctor

    tproctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    29
    Mine says Verizon on the top of the banner. The other day, it said Extended Service as I was in basically a no coverage zone.
     
  3. vertig0730

    vertig0730 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    10
    I am on Leak 3 and it says Verizon Wireless.
     
  4. whitewallman

    whitewallman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    62
    I wonder what would cause this. Mine doesn't say Verizon Wireless, just blank. Sometimes no service. Verizon replaced it though and the new one is blank too! Perhaps its because I'm a former Alltel customer?
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    The word or phrase shown in that lock screen area is basically "translated" by your phone from the nearest tower. Distance, signal strength and whether or not it is your "home" signal source are some of the data used which add up to the simple word or words displayed for the user.

    It does not matter which OS you are running in the Eris.
     
  6. AwesomeIT

    AwesomeIT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    22
  7. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Could be AllTel. We are running a different prl then vzw folks if you still have an alltell plan. Maybe the screen can't interpret the info? I have never noticed mine saying Verizon on either the eris or Inc.
     
  8. whitewallman

    whitewallman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    62
    The Verizon tech felt it was serious enough to swap it out. Oh well, back to square one.
    A word of warning... test your handset before you leave the store. The first replacement had a blown speaker.
     

Share This Page

Loading...