Question on contactsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. gripweed

    gripweed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    9
    I switched from an Incredible to the X and I keep coming up with a few questions. This one I haven't been able to figure out yet.

    All of my contacts are through google.

    Now if I go into my phone and look at my contacts, they're there and it also has my favorites folder, which I set up in gmail.

    Now...on the Inc, I had the option to view certain groups. For example, I have groups for favorites, friends, family, and coworkers. On the Inc, I could go into some options menu and click which group I wanted to see. I could also click to 'show contacts without phone numbers' and be able to see people I just have email for.

    Is this possible on the X? Sometimes I liked to view a certain group for a mass message or what not. Seems like it should be since my favorites are there. Also, in the gmail app, if I start typing an address of someone I just have an email for, their name does show up, so it is recognizing those people through google, just not in my contacts list.

    One other thing, on the Inc, when I brought up the dial pad I could start spelling someones name using the dial pad...like our Pizza place, east of chicago, I could start typing east (3278) and it'd pop up and I could just click their name to call. Is that an option anywhere on the X? I really miss that feature.
     

    Advertisement
  2. nycebo

    nycebo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hey there. You have a few options available to you. If you hit the contacts button on the bottom right of the main home screen, it will bring up the list of all your contacts. Hitting the menu button and then selecting the 'display groups' option will allow you to organize/filter on desired groups.

    In order to see favorites, that's available to you from the phone button, which is on the bottom left of the main home screen. You'll see the tab for it along the top.

    You can also show contacts without phone numbers; it's an option from the contacts tab in the phone app.

    Last, we don't have the dial by number pad search option, but you could download Dialer One from the market and it will restore much of that functionality. It seems a very good app to me.

    Oh, one more thing, we do have speed dials whereby if you hold down the 1 button, you call whomever you have preselected.
     
  3. gripweed

    gripweed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for the help...couple things...

    I do that and when I hit Display Group, I have the options; All Contacts, Favorites, Google, and Phone Contacts. I pick google and all that comes up is the verzion numbers (like ones for minutes used, tech support, crap like that.) If I click Favorites, nothing shows up, even though on the phone app, they do show up. It seems like it doesn't recognize google for some reason?



    How so? I click the phone icon, go to contacts, click menu, and all I have is Search and Speed Dial Setup. Am I in the wrong spot?





    Thanks, might have to check that out.
     
  4. khsjsilver

    khsjsilver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2

    Unfortunatley, the "Groups" you set up on Google do not sync to the "Groups" on your phone (and visa versa). You must manually add the contacts to the "Groups" in Google and on your phone.

    Another stupid software flaw!!
     
  5. gripweed

    gripweed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well that sucks.

    I really kind of miss my Incredible for the little things. The X isn't sitting here rebooting though, so that's all I care about.
     
  6. nycebo

    nycebo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    45
    You're right The groups that were showing on my phone were being linked to from my Exchange account. Then again, I'm not syncing with Google Contacts so I'm not sure that it wouldn't let me filter on those groups either. However, from the sound of it, you aren't able to get that to happen. :-( That is a HUGE bug and the flaw of MotoBlur and NOT Android because my old Droid definitely had that feature.
     
  7. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    Hey, I hope you don't mind... this is a support question.. I'll move it the support area. If you have any objection, don't hesitate to Pm me or a mod.

    Steven :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...