Question on how to install custom kernels


Last Updated:

  1. iBe PeRFeCT

    iBe PeRFeCT Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay, I have read and searched everywhere on how to install custom kernels. I follow each step: download the file, change the name of the file to update.zip, copy file onto root of SD card, boot into recovery, go to install, select "Allow update.zip Installation", install. When it starts to install it pops up "no such file or directory" installation aborted. Any ideas what I am doing wrong?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Are you using Windows? It already takes into account the file extension.

    So if you name it update.zip, you're adding a zip so in reality, it is update.zip.zip, which the phone won't recognize.
     
    iBe PeRFeCT likes this.
  3. iBe PeRFeCT

    iBe PeRFeCT Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay, thanks Fabolous. I thought I had tried that earlier but apparently not. On a side note, I noticed after I d/led that my Sprecovery had went back to 0.99.1b and before I had 0.99.3b. Any ideas what caused this?
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Did you do a Nandroid restore with all options set?
     
  5. iBe PeRFeCT

    iBe PeRFeCT Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, I restored my stock backup then wiped everything, then loaded up Ultimate 4.0. After that I tried Fabolous' advice and it worked fine but did reset my Sprecovery. It's not a big deal. I have already put 0.99.02b back on there but, I was just curious as to why it happened to begin with.
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    If you do a Nandroid Restore and check off everything in there, you'll be checking off one of the items that says Recovery.

    I wonder if that has something to do with it....

    (Not trying to be silly, I am honestly wondering - that is the only thing I can think of that might have done it).
     
  7. iBe PeRFeCT

    iBe PeRFeCT Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, that is what I was thinking. I have did Nandroid restores before and I don't think I have seen it go back to .1b but, I could be wrong.
     
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I think it is time to back up all my apps and restore SG4.5 so I can update to 5.0.1...
     
  9. iBe PeRFeCT

    iBe PeRFeCT Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Haha not liking Ult4.0? I was thinking of switching to SG 5.0.1 but, I thought I would give this a shot. I had been using SG4.5 and I was starting to get alot of FC's, probably 2-3 an hour. Strange seeing as I probably hadn't gotten one since I first d/led it.
     
  10. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Loving it, actually. I just wanted to check out this new installation method since I haven' seen it before.
     
  11. iBe PeRFeCT

    iBe PeRFeCT Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, I really liking it too. I've ran into a problem with the screen switcher though. Every time I hold down the menu button to bring it up it FC's on me. I really had trouble with it once I made Launcher+ my default home.
     
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I don't switch - I removed the 7 screen launcher from 2.0.1 and use Launcher2 exclusively.
     
  13. iBe PeRFeCT

    iBe PeRFeCT Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was under the impression that Launcher+ was 2.1. I don't switch between home screens either it was just once I made Launcher+ plus my default screen when I press the home key is when it started FCing.


    The screen switcher I was referring to is the one where you long press the menu button and it brings up all 7 screens so you can choose between them quicker.
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Are you talking about SG or Ultimate?
     
  15. iBe PeRFeCT

    iBe PeRFeCT Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ultimate. Sorry for the confusion.
     
  16. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Launcher+ is 2.0.1 - Launcher is 2.1.
     
  17. iBe PeRFeCT

    iBe PeRFeCT Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    So which Launcher do you use then? Because I have had several force close issues today with most of them coming from me trying to quick reply on text messages. It's so bad that I have to close out the quick reply and just do a normal reply.
     

Share This Page

Loading...