Question!!! this is killing me to know...Support


Last Updated:

  1. cesardrgn

    cesardrgn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    So i have a Samsung Mesmerize with Froyo 2.2 my question is, How the HECK do we take Screen Capture shots???

    I don't have any screen capture app downloaded or anything but i know the phone does have one Built-in already. I know this because three weeks ago i was at the airport waiting for my flight and someone how i took a picture of my top home menu and no idea how i did that!!!
    also about a week ago i got my phone out of my pocket and like i always do i click on the unlock button and Boom! my phone did the sound it does for when you take a picture. took a screen shot of the pattern draw password screen.

    So how in earth do i press to take screen captures??? The phone does have the option but i been playing around with my cel and can't find that option or key!

    If i go into my Gallery a new folder was created titled, "ScreenCapture" and i have those two pictures i took not even knowing how :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

    HELP!!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Zebulon

    Zebulon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    60
    In my experience, the best way to take a screen shot is to take the phone out of your pocket. :D
     
  3. cesardrgn

    cesardrgn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I mean, what key or keys do i press to take a screen capture?
    I did it twice both by accident so i know the option is there. i don't pick a picture with the camera but a screen capture of what's on my screen.

    first picture i took was on the home page and the other one of my pattern draw password screen

    someone has to know how to do this not installing a 3rd party app since the phone has it already
     
  4. LaTuFu

    LaTuFu Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,286
    Likes Received:
    256
    Press the Volume Keys and the Power Button simultaneously. I can't remember if it is both volume keys at once, or just volume down.

    I use Zeb's method. Grab the phone the wrong way coming out of your pocket, captures a screen every time.
     
  5. das1116

    das1116 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hold the back button and press the power button. I've noticed if your screen is dirty then just pressing the power button will do it. Hope this helps!
     
  6. Zebulon

    Zebulon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    60
    For real, that is the right way to do it. Unfortunately, it doesn't actually work on anything but a home screen from what I have seen.
     
  7. attroll

    attroll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    This only works from the desktop of the phone. It does not work inside an app.
     
  8. Bloomy6

    Bloomy6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    21
    In fact, you can do it from inside app. Go to home screen, hold down the back button for approximately 2 seconds and continue to hold, click on the app while still holding the back button, get to the screen you want to capture and hit the power button.
     
  9. attroll

    attroll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you
     
  10. regalsoft

    regalsoft Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't seem to get mine to work at all, home screen or otherwise. I've tried all the suggestions mentioned here and none of them work. Just got my phone a little over a month ago. Already had Froyo on it. For you guys that have it working, did you upgrade from 2.1?
     
  11. Bloomy6

    Bloomy6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    21
    yes, I did upgrade from 2.1
     
  12. ladybadger2007

    ladybadger2007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    3
    I can't seem to make it do it on purpose, but almost everytime i pull it outa my pocket click there it is
     
  13. j1977t

    j1977t New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using the Samsung Mesmerize with the 2.2 update push back and power button at the same time.
     
  14. Ziphless

    Ziphless Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    I agree with bloomy... with little bit of practice, I was able to screen shot pretty much anything. Holding the return button, go to where you want while still holding the return and then press the power button. My phone use to take pics all by itself too. It stopped as soon as I got the 2.2.1 patch.
     
  15. MommyOf6

    MommyOf6 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the mesmerize and the upgrade. Holding the back button getting to the screen u want and pushing the power button works fine for mine too, the only time it didnt is when i was trying to do it in my txt messages it wouldnt take the screend shot of them.
     
  16. Jackmedley

    Jackmedley New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't get it to work in text messages either.
     
  17. vfrontop

    vfrontop New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah this was killing me too!!! LOL

    you hold down the back button and while holding it down you press the home button.

    i have a samsung t589 cell phone.........that is how it works consistently.
    i just took like 5 screenshots to make sure.

    i hold down the back button and sort of slip over and hit the home button
    and then screen capture occurs.
     
  18. vfrontop

    vfrontop New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Remember.........hold down the back button and hit the HOME button NOT the power button for samsung t589 phone......... the power button is on the side of the phone....... the HOME button is the circle button in the middle of the phone
     
  19. LaTuFu

    LaTuFu Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,286
    Likes Received:
    256
    That's all great, except the phones in this forum are not t589s...
     
  20. BobMudd

    BobMudd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Press any of your main buttons at the bottom to get their back-light to activate. With the buttons back lit, press and hold the back button until you get that delayed "buzz". While still holding the back button, press the power button. You will hear the camera shutter sound and a new screen-shot will be in your gallery.;)
     
  21. Blackout5150

    Blackout5150 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    You, sir, are a genius. Thank you a million times over!! :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...