Question: Widget for vibrate?General


Last Updated:

  1. insidenyc

    insidenyc Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    This has probably been asked. Sorry.

    I would like to be able to quickly change my phone to vibrate without going into settings, sound setting, phone vibrate.

    On one of my home screens, there was a preinstalled widget to quickly turn on and off WIFI.

    It would be great if i had one for vibrate.

    Example: Walk into a meeting. Set vibrate. Walk out of meeting, turn it off.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Mark16q

    Mark16q Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    9
    best thing I've found is holding the power key and selecting vibration mode. There are app's for silent (silencemodetimer in market ) and airplane mode widgets, but nothing I've found for vibe.
     
  3. ThorSkaagi

    ThorSkaagi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    12
    On the volume button on the side of the phone, just keep pressing (or hold) it down until it says 'Ringer Vibrate'.

    I'm sure there are widgets as well, but this is how I do it.
     
    insidenyc likes this.
  4. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    You have 2 options if you are running 1.5 and 3 options if you are running 2.1.

    1.5/2.1 options:

    1 - Turn the volume on your phone all the way down with the side volume buttons until it vibrates. (I think this only works for the ringtone though)

    2- Press and hold the power/end button for a few seconds until it buzzes and the menu pops up. Third option is to set phone to Vibrate Mode.

    2.1 only option:

    1 - On the home screen hit the plus sign > HTC widgets > get more widgets > Profile widget.

    Hope that helps.

    Edit: Damn! Ninja'd Twice.
     
  5. ReJe75

    ReJe75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have looked for this alot, but cannot find one that works so simply. There are two that I have used. One is Audio manager. This is not as simple as a widget toggle, but I like the wa y it works.

    The other one I use is calle Volume Toggle its great as you can set profiles and just toggle between the profiles. The only thing I dont like with this is it has 4 pre-named profiles. I prefer just 3 and when you are toggling through them sometimes its a pain. I am sure there are others in the market you can find that may work better, but these are the best I have found so far. Check them out and let me know what you think, I am curious. Plus post if you find any others.
     
  6. insidenyc

    insidenyc Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks ThorSkaagi.

    Mark16q - Can you tell me how to find the airplane mode widget?
     
  7. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    It is in with the other settings widgets.
     
  8. Mays24

    Mays24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    14
    I use the Beatiful Vibrate widget. Works great for exactly what you want to do.
     
  9. Mark16q

    Mark16q Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    9
    in the market, same programmer as silence mode timer, Shantanu Shah. if you search for airplanemodetimer it should come up in results. Or if you have the silence mode timer, he has a button to show his other apps. 2 of my favorites.

    Mark
     
  10. ReJe75

    ReJe75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dupe
     
  11. BlueDC2

    BlueDC2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    52
    Get more htc widgets, download profiles. That's what it does.
     
  12. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    One click widgets in the market has a vibrate widget. In fact, it can be a three way toggle - sound/vibrate/mute - you have a choice when you add it between sound/vibrate and sound/vibrate/mute.
     
  13. scrubs

    scrubs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    6
    Curvefish has a three way toggle (ringer-vibrate-mute) called "SilentMode OnOff" in the market. It seems to lag a little, and I usually have to tap it twice to get it to change initially, but it works and I keep it on my home screen.
     
  14. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    62
    I have that one too. The newest update seems to make it little more responsive.
     
  15. Dorito

    Dorito Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    7
    Is OP female?
     
  16. drmalenko

    drmalenko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    go to the marketplace and download beautiful widgets.. it has a silent, vibrate, and plane widget, along with some other cools stuff....
     
  17. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    62
    I tried Beautiful widgets and I had a bad experience. It keeps force closing and setting it up was a pain. The home/small home widget looked nice. But the small home widget was missing the city you are currently in. The wifi/bluetooth widgets look ugly. I replaced Beautiful widgets with Weatherbug elite. Weatherbug elite is has a very nice widget.

    Now Curvefish has some really nice, responsive silent/vibrate, wifi, bluetooth widgets.
     
  18. CXXV

    CXXV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    10
    Look for "Silent On/Off" in the market.
     
  19. insidenyc

    insidenyc Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks All
     
  20. mc48

    mc48 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    36
    Another option is the app Quick Profiles. You can set ringer volume including to vibrate or silent, media volume, notification volume, voice call volume, screen brightness, etc to different situations. I have a profile set for work and one for home but you can set as many as needed...such as meeting, car, etc. Then you can simply put a short cut on one of your screens, press it and voila. Works great. It is one of the best apps out there, imo.
     
  21. marck_don

    marck_don New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, thanks for your reply

    I am referring specifically to the click-through style questions they have on the left side of the page. It loads very smoothly and i'd like to replicate it (without using flash)

    Webmaster Forum
     
  22. rthibeault

    rthibeault Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    :confused::confused::confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...