Question: Will it connect to WiFi if available?General


Last Updated:

  1. nextopdoc

    nextopdoc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    If wifi is available, will it automatically connect to the wifi instead of 3g/4gLTE? I don't want to pay for data when I'm at home. Haha. :smokingsomb:
     

    Advertisement
  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,224
    In the wifi menu is a provision for that very thing.

    Be careful, though, sometimes you may wish to have a chance to analyse the network your device is connecting to. ;)
     
  3. nextopdoc

    nextopdoc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    So you can set it to automatically connect?

    Can you tether your phone?
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,154
    Likes Received:
    15,836
    There's no need. Once you've connected to a wireless AP once, the handset will automatically reconnect every time it's within range.

    Tethering and wireless hotspot functions are integral to Android 4.x. Whether they're usable depends on the individual network and/or contract.... some allow tethering and others don't.
     
    nextopdoc likes this.
  5. nextopdoc

    nextopdoc Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you.
     
  6. ranjb

    ranjb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have an i9505 Galaxy S4 on UK EE which has 4.4.2 kitkat on there but find that its not automatically connecting to a WIFI network. I have to manually connect to it, luckily it already knows the password so doesnt need me to enter this but this is a real pain as it means I sometimes am using my 4G when actually the phone could be using the WIFI. on my S2 it would automatically connect, why doesnt it do it on my S4.

    Can anyone advise what could be wrong? Is it a setting somewhere?
     
  7. No0byPete

    No0byPete Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    If I could remember correctly, when I had an S4, my WiFi would always scan for a available WiFi connection. The phone came like that when I purchased and set it up. I did not change anything. If it doesn't require password, then it'll connect automatically. If you already put in the password before, it'll connect automatically. However, I did not like that feature so I turned it off in WiFi advanced setting. If you don't have it on, you can go to WiFi>Advanced setting. I hope this helps! ;)
     
  8. lotus49

    lotus49 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,513
    Likes Received:
    230
    Mine only connects to networks I have already connected to but it does connect to those automatically when they are visible. It does not connect without asking to a new network.

    I have an unlimited data plan so I don't really care but when I get home, my phone connects to my home wifi with no intervention on my part. It has always done this with 4.2, 4.3 and now CM11 (based on 4.4).
     
  9. MYKEL61

    MYKEL61 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    17
    I agree mine does the same.. After I accept a new network it then will connect to it when in range. As soon as I pull into my garage my phone switches to my home network as that has been saved.
     

Share This Page

Loading...