Questions about DLNA on Inspire

1. VeryProudOfYa

VeryProudOfYa Member

I am hoping that i will be able to stream music to my PS3 through the DLNA function. Will this work or is it only for pictures? Who has experience with DLNA and what is your opinion?

Advertisement
    :
  2. Allenfx

Allenfx Well-Known Member

I have no experience with it at all, but it is supposed to work for music, pictures and video.

I plan to purchase a dlna flat screen tv at some point in the future and skip the ps3 part....we will see. In the mean time will probably buy the portable htc dlna media adapter for $99 that will work with any hdmi ready tv for this purpose.
  3. from what I know you can stream music, videos, pictures etc etc basically all media
  4. Fyrefly

Fyrefly Active Member

I don't know how well it works from smart-phones (my hopes are high - I've already pre-ordered the Inspire), but after installing DLNA software on my PC I was able to stream photos, music and video to my PS3
  5. VeryProudOfYa

VeryProudOfYa Member

I would really like to be able to play music through my speakers that are connected to my tv. All of thid would happen through the DLNA on my phone and ps3
  6. Allenfx

It will work..one of the reviews posted has it confirmed where the reviewer uses his xbox. It shows up on your phone as a "xbox media extender" and i think it shows up on the xbox as "phone". Shouldnt be too different on a ps3.
  7. Loiselle

Loiselle Well-Known Member

I would like a link to said article/video.
  8. Allenfx

9. Loiselle

Loiselle Well-Known Member

10. Allenfx

"xbox media extender" has shown up on my home network for years while using all of my computers...but i never enabled it because i didnt want to deal with my son constantly trying to take over my computers to play music...i bought him an ipod instead and he drives me crazy cranking the music while gaming now.....