1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Questions before rooting

Last Updated:

1. blahgman

blahgman New Member This Topic's Starter

Well I've had my droid X for quite awhile now and have decided to finally root it. I'm completely new to this sort of thing (1st smartphone as well), and while the stickies/other threads are helpful, I have some questions I can't find answers to, as well as a lot of them being outdated. I'd also like to be sure on everything before I do anything that could potentially ruin my precious phone :D

Version is .605 and I've been mostly looking at the thread [TUTORIAL]Simple Gingerbread .602 SBF and Root Process (Updated 9.9.11)

So in the thread, it says that Psouza's 1 click root will root version .605 as well as .602, so my main question is why do I need to SBF my phone to .602? It's the first step, and the most confusing for me so far. I understand that it makes the phone like it's out of the box new, but I don't get why I need to SBF the phone...? I'd rather not if possible because I don't want all my app data/game saves deleted (and I can't find a way to back these up without having a rooted device *sigh*). Or is it possible to SBF the phone without everything being deleted like another source I read? It's also confusing with all the conflicting tutorials I've read, some say to SBF, some don't even mention it.

Also, the last step in the thread is about installing a custom rom. I'm pretty sure I know the answer is no, but is this necessary? I've been using launcher pro and I like the look of my phone and would rather not mess with this right at the start (maybe eventually though). Also, what are the advantages of using a custom ROM?

Simple version: Can I just use the Psouza4's 1 click root without SBF'ing my phone or installing a custom rom and be rooted?