Questions for the NoObSupport


Last Updated:

  1. curving_edge

    curving_edge Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey to all! And brand new to the forum!

    I recently just got out of my Sprint HTC Touch Pro 2. And jumped into the Samsung Moment (4/30/10) . Its amazing! And this phone is entirely a different curve ball thrown at me.

    First off, updates? What is the newest one and is the new update coming out soon?

    My Girlfriend and I got the same phone and when she sends text messages to me, they fail saying that there isn't enough digits. We have deleted and re-entered it, to no avail, cant get texts from her!?

    Also, I would love to get the most from the phone (since I couldn't with WM) What do I do and can learn for this phone?

    So far its not too bad, I like. But please school this NoOb on how to show these I-pod/WM users on why android kicks @$$.

    Thanks for help,
    -CURV
     

    Advertisement
  2. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    The 2.1 update should be out soon. Are you putting in the whole phone number, all 9 digits? Also, Handcent MMS is much cooler than the stock messaging app. It is free in the market, just make sure you turn off the notifications on the stock app if you decide to use it.
     
  3. curving_edge

    curving_edge Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, the whole 10 digits. area code 123-456-7890

    My girl and I also went to Sprint (yesterday) to have the phone looked at. They did the same to delete the phonebook number and it worked fine, and then today, it started acting up... so wierd...

    And thanks for the lookup on the app. Will get it.
     
  4. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    Store your contacts with the area code included--even for local numbers and you won't have a problem.

    While handcent looks prettier, the stock app is more compact (balloons are for clowns HEH HEH) and thus more functional (as far as I'm concerned anyhow) to each his own I guess.
     
  5. curving_edge

    curving_edge Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, when Sprint took care of us, they put it in as 1234567890 then the name. It'll work fine for the first day, but after that, She still gets the error message and I never recieve the text, its really crazy. I have never seen a phone glitch like that...

    Maybe a hard reset?

    So since we are waiting for the update and at the mercy of Sprint, what are some good apps, remedies for the Moment...Nice, I made a PUN
     
  6. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    Some other apps you will find useful are Spare Parts, Astro Manager Battery Widget, Battery Graph, Pandora (of course) MixZing (Music) Tune Wiki, No Lock (indispensable in my opinion), Toggle Settings. (TOO!!!) SpeedDialer Widget. Digital Clock Small Widget. (tap it for a bedside alarm clock.)

    Have fun with your phone.
     
    curving_edge likes this.
  7. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    Are you using contacts? / Google mail etc?
     
  8. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    Do you get text from anyone else? Is it only you an your girlfriend that cannot text between each other?
     
  9. curving_edge

    curving_edge Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes we are only using the contacts stored in the phone.

    She sends and recieves texts from everyone just fine. But sending to me, they never send. BUT she gets all that I send her. :confused:
     
  10. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    She doesn't have your phone number right? (maybe she's only using the 9 digits Dura says to use ;-) Thats all I can think of if your sending to her ok and she sends to every one else ok. hmmmmmmmmmmm
     
  11. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    Can she reply to your text message (instead of starting a new conversation)? I would say to call Sprint customer service, but they would proably suggest dumping her.:eek:
     
  12. curving_edge

    curving_edge Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL nice! I will try to go to Sprint again. And try. At least mine is working! hee hee

    Thanks again for the quick links. If you got anymore, definitly hit me up. And I will keep doing the research necessary to get the job done.

    If you have any ideas though, Please post anytime!:rolleyes:

    -Curv
     
  13. 00_MACKIE_00

    00_MACKIE_00 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome to the Moment party Curv, I think we dumped our TP2's at the same time. lol
     
  14. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    3
    Was wondering how good the SpeedDialer Widget was for the moment? I see a lot of 1 star posting on it (granted most are not moment users) so was just wondering if it really works well with the moment.
     
  15. f1fanatic

    f1fanatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just to clarify. Somebody mentioned and its important to note that the phone needs to be synced with a g-mail account. And likely needs to be done fairly quickly after the phone is activated.
     
  16. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yea i have a gmail account and sync it fairly often does that matter?
     
  17. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    When the 2.1 update comes out, you can have direct dial on any of your screens. It's very nice. I have the 2.1 (unofficial leaked) update that with the Helix launcher (using 5 sceens), have dedicated one whole screen to direct dial. Never used speeddialer, but if it sucks, at least you know there are better options for when the update comes out.
     
  18. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    Direct Dial sucks cuz each contact has to have its own separate Space-taking up icon Whole page????? vs top of page?? (Not me!!!!). SpeedDialer 2.0 works great (Android 2.0 and higher)! Holds many many contacts each with it's picture if the contact has one. I couldn't find at first after I upgraded to 2.1 but then suddenly, there it was in the market!!! I was so happy!!! The version for 1.5 worked great too!!!
     
  19. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    Not sure what you mean. I have 4 rows of 4 direct dial contacts on one page (16 total). Each contact uses one 1x1 widget/app space. I also have my office and service center in the space next to the app drawer on the helix launcher, so those two are at the bottom all the time no matter what page.
     
  20. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    Yes I suppose the two icons at the bottom of every page is handy. I really don't care much for Helix (I don't see the need for "Live " wallpapers. My Speed Dialer 2.0 takes up One row at the top of my home page and contains all the contacts I need quick access to (way more than 16) I use Panda Home which provides me with all the pages I need. OH aaaaaaaaaaand, I can select any of them to be my home page. (Can't do that with Helix).
     
  21. curving_edge

    curving_edge Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0

    When 2.1 comes out, does the (5 screens) come installed? what app is that?!?! i would love to have more room!!!!
     
  22. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    No, it is app. There are several that do it, I'm using Helix Launcher which allows up to 7 screens, but as you can read above, there might be others that you may like better.
     
  23. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    Good to know, I've never used Panda or Speed Dialer 2.0. Live wallpaper is more bling than anything else, but I like it for now.
     
  24. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    3
    So which app is it that gives you more screen's??? I see Helix mentioned above but don't find anything when i search the market. I also noticed someone mention panda but again don't find anything on the market (I do find something called pandora but not if this is the same thing?)

    Is the speeddialer 2.0 worth down loading or should i just wait for the 2.1 updates (the 2.1 update comes with a speeddialer correct?)

    Thanks all
     
  25. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    You can't get the Helix until you are on 2.1. The 2.1 doesn't come with speeddialer (that is an app). 2.1 comes with the ability to place contacts on any of home screens that if you tap on it does a specific function, such as call the home number or text the mobile number. It is very fast, and after your screen is unlocked, it is true one touch dialing. I tried some of the speed dailer type apps when I had a Pre, but they were always too slow to open. Don't know if the ones for android phone suffer from that too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...