Questions


Last Updated:

  1. Jo The Veteran

    Jo The Veteran Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    So this is my first post here and I've been wandering and searching for some time now without bothering you. However the new android 2 update changed all that so regarding the update :
    The new 2.1 update looks and runs better but the main issue is with the camera. It just crashes very frequently. It's like that : I boot the phone, use the camera (maybe lagish*) but ok, then do other stuff, run the camera app again, crash! Even if i clear the memory with Adv. Task Manager it still crashes. It doesn't crash every 2 opens, if i open-close it near boot it doesn't crash (most of the times). Then there is the lagish* thing i parenthesized. When this happens the video preview has low fps count, pictures turn blurred (like huge shutter time but without capturing huge amounts of light) and the video has less fps than normal (like 5), it's like something is hogging the CPU or the camera app is NOT using the CPU it needs. Prior to the update i had the same problem but i used to fix it by changing camera modes while the app was working (from video to photo and vise versa). But now it doesn't fix that way and when it happens it stays that way.

    After that there is the fact that android 2 supports live wallpapers, which i can now install, but can't select anywhere. What's up with that?!?

    Also searching for it and out of the blue irrelevant question but is there an app or setting, or whatever that can make the Hero work as a router? I'm pretty sure there is something like that in order to connect the phone with a computer and by using 3G networks provide internet access to that computer, but i have no idea how it is done. I want this mainly to connect with other wiffi phones using the ftp server app but without the use of an external wireless router. Essentially the phone itself would be the router, providing ips and all, like routers do, then the ftp sever could start a server using the address assigned to the phone by the router app and wouldn't need an external router that way. Prior to the update this used to be the fastest and most compatible way to share files though different platform phones. However, the fully functional BT stack now changes some things in ways of practicality, still wiffi remains allot faster.

    Sorry for the long post, I've tried to be as thorough as possible.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,381
    Likes Received:
    16,480
    What 2.1 update? The only official GSM release so far has been for the Taiwanese operator Chungwa.
     
  3. Jo The Veteran

    Jo The Veteran Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Figured as much from the 2.1 thread, it's pretty confusing though with all the older posts. Yes, i do have a Taiwanese Hero GSM. I've bought it from a special offer in an e-shop in Canada. Pretty cool huh? Order to Greece, from Canada that actually ships from Taiwan :p.
    So i guess you guys don't know about it then, the HTC android 2.1 for the GSM Hero i mean. So feel free to ask anything you wanna know.

    How about the other question though? A Router app?
     
  4. Nigredo

    Nigredo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    12
    Can you provide a snapshot of the "About Phone" section in Settings?
     
  5. lju

    lju New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some shots of my Hero running 2.1:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Nigredo

    Nigredo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    12
    Well that great... just don't understand why HTC release the update so... randomly.

    what are the limitations of this update1 (knowing that there is another part which will follow) ?
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Actually many of us are running the custom ROM version of it on non-Taiwanese heroes :D

    You can use HTC Sync + a USB cable to teather your phone (that's the proper name for what you're describing).

    And I don't think HTC included live wallpapers because the hero can't quite handle it. I've used them before (custom ROMs again) and while they do run, the hero does seem to struggle.
     
  8. lju

    lju New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    No idea, will just flash it again if needs be later :D
     
  9. Jo The Veteran

    Jo The Veteran Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nigredo
    Whoops, it looks like lju beat me to it. I'll put exact details in txt form on the bottom of this post.
    The ability to be able to download a live wallpaper but not be able to use it maybe? I don't know.
    Other than that i haven't seen any, it looks like a beta test though, allot of crashes in the camera app. So maybe update-2 will be fixing those things.
    Xyro
    It came OTA in my Hero, so i didn't even had to flash or anything :D
    You probably installed a nexus1 rom if you where able to have live wallpapers. IMO those are really heavy for the Hero because the whole OS is heavy for the Hero. Maybe an optimized android 2 FOR the Hero could be better at handling those things, don't you think?


    Software tab in detail
    FW : 2.1-update1
    BV : 63.18.55.06OU_6.35.15.01
    KV : 2.6.29-5f74b252
    htc-kernel@and18-2 #1
    BN : 3.31.751.1 CL183682 release-keys
    SN : 3.31.751.1
    BW : Webkit 3.1
     
  10. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Actually I think the live wallpapers were shoehorned into existing hero ROMs; I have never used a nexus 1 port.

    It would be nice to have HTC release a ROM with them though, just to see the best possible performance from them.
     
  11. Jo The Veteran

    Jo The Veteran Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's not so impossible you know. The Hero has a powerful CPU, for a mobile that is. Sure the nexus1 1GHz is even better but... come on! This is just a cell and these are just some silly graphics. I think they can do better, it's all a matter of good versus bad/lazy programming if you ask me.
     
  12. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,381
    Likes Received:
    16,480
    I'm pretty sure it's more to do with the Snapdragon CPU and its much better graphics abilities. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...