Questions

Last Updated:

1. riffdex

riffdex Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I've got some questions, I did search and found no answers.

1) What is the difference between kernel and a ROM? How do I know what kernel I am on? I know I am running the SholesMod ROM, but I am considering changing to another ROM. I seem to have FC's quite often and am trying to fix that. If I want to change a ROM will I need to change the kernel to make sure they are compatible?

2) I have SP Recovery installed. Is this part of the kernel? Is this installed in a separate place from the kernel/ROM? I'd like to feel assured that if I am installing a new kernel/ROM and something goes wrong, I don't have to worry about my SP Recovery being affected. But should I?

3) Nandroid backup... does this include everything on the device? Kernel, ROM, AND Recovery Mode?

I'm a newbie to hacking the Droid, but back in my PSP days, I know that the Recovery mode was stored on the same drive as the system files, and if you make a misstep when flashing a new firmware, you could lose recovery access. I'm just wondering where the recovery is located in the phones file system, and if I should really be concerned when flashing ROMs/kernels. Also, is there any way I could redirect it to load recovery from the memory stick, if the default recovery cannot load, just as a failsafe? Or if I lose recovery, could I somehow flash a new recovery via USB?

Advertisement
  2. vincentp

vincentp Well-Known Member

1) A kernel is baseline code for the phone that lets the software communicate with the hardware. It makes the most difference in the phones actual speed and basic capabilities. A ROM is just a collection of applications, themes and tweaks. You can freely change kernels as long as they are compatible with the correct version of the OS for the ROM you are running. For instance, don't use a kernel intended for 2.0.1 ROMs if you have a 2.1 ERE25 based ROM on your phone.