Quick question about FRG83D


Last Updated:

  1. connor11493

    connor11493 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey, guys- I have a quick question about FRG83D on a rooted device. However, I'm a noob now and I'm not that firmilliar with rooted devices, ROMs, ClockworkRecovery MOD, or anything like that, so you'll have to bare with me :( Sorry!

    Anyway, my situation is this: while I was asleep last night with my phone by my side, I received the FRG83D OTA update and, probably like any other user who has a "non-rooted" device, I pressed "Install now." The problem is that, obviously, the update didn't install. So, my question is how I can get FRG83D, Android 2.2.1 on my device.

    Right now I don't have any special ROMs on my device, no special anything. I'm just rooted so I can have access to the root folder, Wi-Fi tether, and things like that. The phone looks the same other than that.

    Thanks in advance for the help, guys! I really appreciate it!

    Connor
     

    Advertisement
  2. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    You have two options.

    One, you can install a custom ROM. Almost all ROMs are currently running 2.2.1 and most will probably be running 2.3 (Gingerbread) very shortly.

    Two, you can wait a couple days and then check Pete's site to see if he has posted a rooted version of FRG83D: Peter Alfonso.

    Also, this update is very minor and only really fixed corporate things such as outlook sync. If you don't use that and don't want to install a custom ROM, you probably really don't need it.

    I'll be honest with you, I rooted simply to have wifi tethering. Then, I decided to flash a custom ROM and now, I'm a "serial flasher". LOL I have subscribed to the nightly builds for Ultimate Droid and am now called that. Anyways, I couldn't be happier with my current set up. I absolutely love it.

    So, to make a long explanation short, do one of those two things or just don't worry about it.

    Kratos
     
    connor11493 likes this.
  3. connor11493

    connor11493 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the quick reply, Kratos! I really appreciate it. However, I have one last question. What I think I'll do is download Pete's FRG83 from his site, then download FRG83D when he finally gets it up, but how do I "flash" that ROM onto my phone?

    Again, thanks for the quick reply!

    EDIT: Also, what's the difference between "Odexed" and "DeOdexed?"
     
  4. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    To flash a ROM, wither use Clockworkmod Recovery or SPRecovery. I personally suggest Rom Manager from the market to flash either one of those. I use Clockworkmod as you don't have to rename anything and it has more options.

    Always make a nandroid backup first.

    I am going to refer you to this thread for more info about flashing roms and making nandroids: http://androidforums.com/droid-all-things-root/136508-guide-all-things-root-related.html

    Also, I am going to refer you to this thread to better explain odexed and deodexed: http://androidforums.com/droid-all-things-root/132713-odexed-rom-vs-deodexed-rom.html

    I hope both of those threads help you out more. If you have any other questions, just ask.

    Kratos
     
    connor11493 and tpriddy like this.
  5. connor11493

    connor11493 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the help, Kratos! I think this will be my last question, too. Haha. Anyway, I read a lot of that "Guide to Rooting" topic you gave me, but I'm still unsure about one thing. I went ahead and made a nandroid backup, so I'm not too worried, but will I loose everything on my Droid when I perform a factory reset? I know it sounds silly, considering we both know that a factory reset will wipe my phone completely, but how will I get all of my data back once I instll the ROM?

    I'm not quite sure what I'm asking, but I guess I'm asking you if it's possible to retreive a nandroid backup. I don't know, but I think you understand what I'm saying, Haha.

    Sorry for the questions, Haha. But I really appreciate the help!
     
  6. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    If you restore a nandroid backup, then your phone will revert back to the exact state it was when you made the backup.

    To save your data, use Titanium Backup to backup your apps with data. I also backup all my system data as well. Then you can restore apps only, data only, or both apps and data. Be careful with the restore. Not all system data is meant to be restored. Once you use TiBU a couple times, you'll see what I mean. Also, if you use launcher pro, then absolutely do not restore data for it with TiBU. Only use the built in restore in LP settings.

    Kratos
     
    connor11493 likes this.
  7. connor11493

    connor11493 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    It worked! Kratos, I listened to everything you said and I can't thank you enough! Thank you so much! Wow! What an incredible treat before the holidays! And I see what you bean about being a "serial flasher" Lol!

    Again, thank you so much! And this is GREAT! I'm gunna go ahead and load my TiBU right now. Right now, it's like I've got a brand new Droid! What a wonderful feeling!

    Thanks so much! (And enjoy your holiday!) :) :)
     
  8. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    430
    Very glad to hear! It's always nice to know I've helped someone. Happy holidays! Kratos
     

Share This Page

Loading...