Quick question about Google Maps/Navigation


Last Updated:

  1. theophile

    theophile Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    When a driving route is selected and used in Google Navigation, are all the necessary maps downloaded beforehand, or are they loaded as needed, or as you drive into the area? In other words, if I have a route that goes through areas with no reception, will Google Navigation show an empty grid because it can't connect to download the maps, or will all the necessary maps already be in the cache somewhere?
     

    Advertisement
  2. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    The maps are dled as you're in location. So losing reception =no map. There are other map programs for dl that are stored on the card I believe.
     
  3. theophile

    theophile Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Blast. And there's no pre-cache option? I looked at the major GPS navigation program for Android (can't remember the name) but it was way too expensive. I don't do enough driving to justify it, but when I do, it's usually through areas with spotty reception.
     
  4. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    Not that I'm aware of. I would search GPS apps in the mkt, there has to be a bunch.
     
  5. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Copilot isn't too expensive. And it's very good.
     
  6. theophile

    theophile Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, it's $35. That's more than three times as much as I would ever pay for a phone app! I was reading on a Droid forum that Google Nav pre-caches map data for routes but Google Maps itself doesn't. Apparently this was in a press release but I haven't found it yet.
     
  7. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    35 is about the same cost as a physical navigation unit...
     
  8. theophile

    theophile Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly. One of the reasons I don't have one. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...