Quick Question

Last Updated:

1. blackbook88

blackbook88 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I have an unrooted motorola droid. I am considering rooting but my question to you is will rooting my phone give me the ability to make it faster? I see people talking about "overclocking" help me understand how this works. All my friends who have "jailbroken" their iphones have made their phones noticeably slower and laggier. I wont root my droid if this is the same case. Thanks for the help!

Advertisement
  2. jxker

jxker Well-Known Member

this explains some of it
    hxxp://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/8906-complete-how-root-busybox-flash-recovery-framework-res-apk-custom-boot-ani.html

rooting your phone by itself wont make it faster or slower..a custom rom that can be overclocked will improve speed.....i am a newb to this and went through a few roms and finally took the plunge to 2.1 and wont look back

3. jamo

jamo Well-Known Member

Check out the Rooting thread at the top of the page, or just google it and you'll get tons of info. imho, just wait a day or so and get the 2.1 update, see if it's fast enough, and then root after if you want.

4. blackbook88

i really want to root my droid. I have 2.0.1 where would i start?

5. CRPercodani

CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

6. blackbook88

i keep finding different guides with different steps. Whats one site that will work for a non rooted droid straight to a rooted 2.1 droid?

7. CRPercodani

CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

Root Your Droid is the best guide out there and is updated often. You will need to download a 2.1 ROM like Pete's BB ESE53 from alldroid.org after rooting. If you want a no hassle way then after you have rooted go to the market and download rom manager and hit flash clockwork recovery then download rom and choose 5.4.0.2 and select all the check boxes that pop up.

8. radikal

radikal Well-Known Member