Quick questions from newbie


Last Updated:

  1. s1nn0ngr

    s1nn0ngr New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, just started looking into android app development, and am having troubles getting the apps i create to either display on the emulator or a real device. Even a very simple app like helloworld, installs on the device but it doesnt appear in the programs menu nor does it auto launch.

    [2009-07-02 08:59:47 - hello15] Installing hello15.apk...
    [2009-07-02 08:59:51 - hello15] Success!
    [2009-07-02 08:59:51 - hello15] \hello15\bin\hello15.apk installed on device
    [2009-07-02 08:59:51 - hello15] Done!

    Any ideas please?
     

    Advertisement
  2. s1nn0ngr

    s1nn0ngr New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone any ideas? :confused:

    Do I need to launch the app manually on the device once its installed? Any ideas how to do that if so?

    Below is the code.

    PHP:
    1. package com.android.helloandroid;
    2.  
    3. import android.app.Activity;
    4. import android.os.Bundle;
    5. import android.widget.TextView;
    6.  
    7. public class HelloAndroid extends Activity {
    8.    /** Called when the activity is first created. */
    9.    @Override
    10.    public void onCreate(Bundle savedInstanceState) {
    11.        super.onCreate(savedInstanceState);
    12.        TextView tv = new TextView(this);
    13.        tv.setText("Hello, Android");
    14.        setContentView(tv);
    15.    }
    16. }
     
  3. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    130
    After the "installed on device", the app should launch automagically.

    I'd say, try to re-install the Android plugin; you should be able to do that without zapping your workspace. Then, also create a new virtual device.
     
  4. Bodom

    Bodom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, I had the same problem.

    When you are developing in Eclispe, try to make a new project and let the Wizard make a new Activity.

    I first had said "Nor Activity" and I could not start the App, but for me it worked with making a new Project and saying Create Activity. (There is a checkbox in the Wizard to do that)
     

Share This Page

Loading...