QuickOffice not in XTRrom? Can I get it back?


Last Updated:

  1. Slugdoc

    Slugdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    QuickOffice was an excellent app included in the stock Eris.
    It seems to be missing from xtrROM3.03.

    I need it back, but don't want to leave this excellent ROM.
    Titanium backup seems to have backup the settings of Quickoffice, but not the app itself.

    Any way for me to get that app back?
     

    Advertisement
  2. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    First (as always) make a Nandroid backup.

    Recover (via Nandroid restore) a ROM that has it in there, and use your God-like root powers to copy the .apk out of /system/app (or /data/app) to your SD card.

    Then restore your preferred ROM (again, Nandroid restore) and install the app off your SD card using your favorite file manager. (Make sure to set the toggle Settings->Applications->Unknown sources first).

    (If the ROM that has it in there is not rooted, you can log in to Amon_RA recovery (adb shell) after you restore the ROM (in Amon_RA) and then "mount /system", "mount /data", and then do an adb pull to copy the .apk to wherever you prefer. If you are comfortable doing this sort of thing, you don't even need to boot that ROM - just restore it, grab the .apk, "unmount /system", "unmount /data", then wipe it and put back your fave ROM in the same Amon_RA session. )

    Easy-peasy.
     
    Slugdoc likes this.
  3. Slugdoc

    Slugdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13

    OK. That's looks do-able. It's about two ROM restores more than I would like to do right this minute, though. Let me check something:
    Yes. It looks like I can unzip the EE ROM (on my laptop), and find QuickOffice in the /system/apps folder. Now all I should need to do is copy to SD card, and install. Let's see:

    OK, USB cable, Disk Drive, OK. Copy, unmount, Charge Only, Linda File Mgr,
    And.....

    FAIL.
    I get "Application Not Installed"
    And yes, Install unknown apps is checked.

    Any ideas why? Something specific to the QuickOffice app?
     
  4. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    Beats me.

    If you have adb running, maybe try installing it from the PC, as in

    C:\blech> adb install Whatever.apk

    perhaps that could give you a more descriptive error message (or possibly succeed, who knows).

    eu1
     
  5. Slugdoc

    Slugdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    The more descriptive error I get is:

    Failure [INSTALL_PARSE_FAILED_UNEXPECTED_EXCEPTION]


    (Is it OK to unplug the Eris from computer after connecting with ADB? The computer never mounted the device, so I can't really unmount it.)
     
  6. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    That sounds like a corrupted file copy to me. You can check by:

    1) renaming the .apk file to a .zip file and see if you can successfully unzip it, or
    2) use the Java (jdk) utility "jarsigner" to check it is intact:

    jarsigner -verify Foo.apk



    Yes, perfectly safe. If you want to be super-duper safe, you can even "Safely Remove Hardware", but that isn't strictly needed for the ADB interface
     
  7. es0tericcha0s

    es0tericcha0s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    49
    So, what you can do is drag/drop a copy of your nandroid to your computer. Unzip. Inside, find your Titanium folder, open and unzip the .gz file that is saved for your Quick Office app. Once unzipped, the apk will be available. Drag/Drop this back onto SD card then you can install via your favorite file manager. Hope this helps.
     
  8. SplicedX

    SplicedX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    94
    I'm running xtrROM 3.1 and Quick Office is included. If i remember correctly, Quick Office was in 3.0.3 and 3.0.1 also.
     
  9. Slugdoc

    Slugdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    I can't unzip the nandroid files. It shows up as a folder with a 3 .img files (which don't mount) and an md5 file. Nothing to unzip.
     
  10. Slugdoc

    Slugdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    Can anyone confirm this? I am on a fresh install of 3.03, and no QuickOffice here.
     
  11. Slugdoc

    Slugdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    see below
     
  12. SplicedX

    SplicedX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    94
    if someone can tell me how to grab a screen shot i'll take one. i'll try and snap a quick pic if i can.
     
  13. Slugdoc

    Slugdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13

    So, it;s not a corrupted file.
    1) I copied it right out of a fresh EE ROM
    2) Renaming it to zip successfully reveals all its contents.

    Not corrupted.

    Is there some form of copy protection that would not allow the installer to install some .apks? (Again, install unknown is checked)
     
  14. SplicedX

    SplicedX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    94
    Here are some screen shots!
     
  15. Slugdoc

    Slugdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    I just checked the xtrROM3.0.3 zip. QuickOffice is not in there.
     
  16. raphifix

    raphifix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    11
    Did you flash the stock apps .zip file?
     
  17. Slugdoc

    Slugdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yes.

    And I just double-checked -- QuickOffice is not in the stock apps .zip file. (That file only has Talk, Gmail, Gallery, and GmailProvider .apks
     
  18. Slugdoc

    Slugdoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    Bump

    I know there are many people running XTR3.03 Can someone just check and see if QuickOffice is in there?
    We know it is in 3.1 -- question is is it in 3.03?
     

Share This Page

Loading...