R2D2 bootanimation D1 optimized (No Lag!)


Last Updated:

  1. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    I have optimized the R2D2 bootanimation for the original Droid. It will play smoothly and all the way through. File is half the size of original!

    Get it here.

    Installation Instructions.
    Rooted Users:
    Use Root Explorer to move the bootanimation.zip
    1. Put on SD Card
    2. Rename R2D1_bootanimation.zip to bootanimation.zip (Can be done from computer before copied to SD Card instead.)
    3. Copy and Paste it into /data/local (will take up memory used for apps)
    alt. 3. Copy and past into /system/media (This will replace your original bootanimation so be sure to rename that file to bootanimation.zip.bak before copying the new one.)
    4. Turn off your phone.
    5. Turn on your phone.

    No Root needed:
    *must have Android SDK installed. and put the android-sdk folder on your c drive (c:/android-sdk)
    *install the motorola usb drivers for your OS (Win 32bit) (Win 64bit)

    rename R2D1_bootanimation.zip to bootanimation.zip and create a folder on your c drive named bootanimation (c:/bootanimation)

    Process:
    - Open command prompt (cmd.exe)
    - cd c:/android-sdk (or /wherever-your-sdk-tools-folder-is)
    - adb devices (to verify the connection - will show your device serial number if connected)
    - cd c:/bootanimation
    - adb push bootanimation.zip /data/local/bootanimation.zip
    - adb reboot

    Your phone will now reboot and play your new bootanimation!


    Video and original file brought to you by Droid Life
    YouTube - Official R2-D2 DROID 2 Boot Animation
     

    Advertisement
    darkcyber, MahoVader, Apollo and 10 others like this.
  2. cobbguy

    cobbguy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Worked perfectly on mine. Not rooted. Thanks.
     
    doomedromance likes this.
  3. thaDroidz

    thaDroidz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    32
    thanks it save me a few hours this weekend..
     
    doomedromance likes this.
  4. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    63
    Thanks alot dude!!! Runs way smoother! Love this bootanimation!:)
     
    doomedromance likes this.
  5. SNeitzel

    SNeitzel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    102
    Nice!
     
    doomedromance likes this.
  6. KaveMahn

    KaveMahn Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    I love it and it runs so smooth. Thanks.
     
    doomedromance likes this.
  7. Prime

    Prime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    2
    can you use astro?

    never mind I got it
     
  8. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    Few hours!!! Photoshop man! Action, Automate, Batch...
    Took 5 mins. :p

    No prob. You're welcome. :)
     
  9. jfe

    jfe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am trying to move the file into system media, but I don't have enough space for it.

    If I look as how much space I have to install apps it tells me that I have 50 mb free, but root explorer only says I have 3 mb free

    :confused:
     
  10. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    The system space doesnt show up in phone settings. that 50mb space for apps is located in your /data folder. So what root explorer says is correct you need to put it in /data/local or delete a bunch of ringtones to free up space.

    What rom are you using? i cant see how that much space is being used unless you are pushing all your apps to /system/app.
     
  11. Reniassance_Man

    Reniassance_Man Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks so much for uploading this.

    On the same subject, is there a collection of other boot animations that we non-rooted folk can use?
     
  12. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    You should be able to use any of em doing it the same way through adb. Rooting just makes installing them easier.

    If boot animations don't work you'll just get a blank screen until the phone boots.
     
  13. MacII

    MacII Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    9
    Does anyone have a link to the original un-optimized r2d2 boot animation? The link at droid life doesn't seem to be working anymore.
     
  14. tbutterbaugh

    tbutterbaugh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to get the start-up sound to work with it?
     
  15. jfe

    jfe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am using Cyanogen Mod 6

    I will start removing some of the cheesy ringtones the phone came up with
     
  16. jfe

    jfe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    6
    OK, got it to work

    Awesome, thanks

    Can I remove the old animation.zip.bak?
     
  17. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    You can but if you ever want to go back to it youll have to find it on the net unless you back it up to your computer.
     
  18. Dysnomia

    Dysnomia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    6
    I cant seem to get this to work, it keeps saying No such file or directory for bootanimation.

    Also, I'm non-rooted
     
  19. scooby888

    scooby888 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    My computer doesn't see the C:/android-sdk even though that is where I put it, non-rooted here too
     
  20. Dysnomia

    Dysnomia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well, I put the android-sdk in documents and settings so i could get to it, do adb devices, and my droid shows up. then i cd C:\bootanimation, but then when i try and push it it says adb is not a proper function or something of the sorts
     
  21. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    It can not be in any folders with spaces in the folder name. Move the folder to the root of the c drive. It's saying its not a proper function because its not in the place you're telling the prompt that it is.
     
  22. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
  23. Dysnomia

    Dysnomia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    6
    C:\bootanimation is the folder on the root of the c drive I'm pretty sure.. it goes to it in the command prompt fine after i do cd c:\bootanimation, its just after i do adb push bootanimation it says adb is not a proper command
     
  24. djfrost

    djfrost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    2
    its not working for me...

    first off i cant find the "local" folder within the "data" folder...so what i did was do a search on "local' and found it...so i copied and pasted into there...rebooted...but still got my OG bootanimation...

    i also dropped it into the media folder...nothing...

    can some help?

    thanks!
     
  25. djfrost

    djfrost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    2
    i finally got it to work...

    i had to download Root Explorer...and i was able to find my \system\media folder...and thats where i copied the file (renamed to bootanimation.zip)...

    this was the easiest way for me...

    thanks!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...