R2D2 Bootanimation.zip?


Last Updated:

  1. RUKKU5

    RUKKU5 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone have a copy of the R2D2 boot animation? they all seem to link to the same megaupload that has been taken down; thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Super_Six_Two

    Super_Six_Two Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    76
  3. RUKKU5

    RUKKU5 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    I love you.
     
  4. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Cool stuff.

    Thank you!
     
  5. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    63
    does it work on the droid 2?
     
  6. Super_Six_Two

    Super_Six_Two Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    76
    Yeah, you can install it on the D2 and pretend you have and R2D2 :D
     
  7. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
  8. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    63
    when i try to put it on my droid 2 its just black and then goes to my lock screen. theres no animation. i use root explorer to do it. is there another way? i really want this like i had it on my droid1.

    EDIT: how are you guys installing the bootanimation?
     
  9. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    This is how I did it.

    Place boot animation in system/media folder
    Rename the stock boot animation from bootanimation.zip to bootanimationstock (in case i ever need to go back to it)
    Then I renamed the R2d2 boot animation to bootanimation.zip.
    Not sure if the renaming is necessary, but I did it anyway.
     
    Thornfullessrose likes this.
  10. Thornfullessrose

    Thornfullessrose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    63
    thanks buddy!:)
     
  11. kaoticg2k10

    kaoticg2k10 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didnt work for me, still have the same boring bootscreen.
     
  12. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    Just put it in /data/local
    The phone will always look there first and boot what's there.
     
  13. kaoticg2k10

    kaoticg2k10 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no luck... unless i am missing something, i dunno.
     
  14. RUKKU5

    RUKKU5 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you make sure to hit the "Mount R/W" button? if the button at the top says "Mount R/O" then R/W is on.
     
  15. kaoticg2k10

    kaoticg2k10 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cant use root explorer, there is a problem with the superuser so i dunno what else to try.
     
  16. RUKKU5

    RUKKU5 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    sounds like you messed up your root, what method did you use?
     
  17. kaoticg2k10

    kaoticg2k10 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Super 1 click method
     
  18. RUKKU5

    RUKKU5 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. kaoticg2k10

    kaoticg2k10 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Titanium backup couldn't get into root, so i would assume what you said earlier that my root is messed up. What can i do to fix it?

    EDIT: I rerooted and things seem to be working (Root explorer and titanium backup). put bootanimation.zip in data/local and still nothing, made sure it was mounted to R/W too.
     
  20. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    I was going to see what file you were trying to download, then I realized the link went to my file I uploaded. I made that for the original Droid.

    This should look more pretty on the D2. At the risk of getting my megaupload account banned and losing all my credits. The OG R2D2


    I don't know what you're doing wrong Kaoticg2k10. I personally tested that file on my phone, uploaded it, redownloaded it, and tested the download. There has been hundreds of people that have downloaded and installed it. The only thing I can think of is to make sure you don't type a space before or after bootanimation.zip. And make sure it hasn't become bootanimation.zip.zip

    Make sure you have the latest superuser app from the market and update the su file. Click the problems? button on TiBak and it will update your busybox.
     
    Thornfullessrose likes this.
  21. kaoticg2k10

    kaoticg2k10 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    DR,
    I have made sure that i updated busybox and i cannot seem to find superuser in the market. I have verified that there is no space before or after and no double .zip as well. Anymore ideas would be appreciated. Thanks for you help thus far.
     
  22. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    [APP] Superuser 2.3.6.1 - Now on the Market [2010-09-05] - xda-developers

    If it fails to install, follow the instructions on the post. Use Android Terminal Emulator (by Jack Palevich) note: the $ and # are just showing that you have root permissions. you don't type $ or # in when using the terminal. $ = no root. when you type su then it changes to # meaning you have root permission.

    You'll most likely get an install fail cause Im sure the one click puts superuser in the /system/app folder.
     
  23. kaoticg2k10

    kaoticg2k10 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to everyone who has tried to help me so far. I now have the 2.3.20 version install i ended up having to SBF because i bricked my phone somehow. Anyways all is work but still to my dismay cant change the boot animation. I am new too all of this but am getting the hang of it quickly.... any more help would be useful and appreciated.
     

Share This Page

Loading...