R2D2 Leak: 2.4.0 for the D2 is in the house!


Last Updated:

  1. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Just when you thought it was safe to be on the internet, new temptation appears...

    MDW and TBH present 2.4.0 (R2D2) for the Droid 2

    Be the first on your block to run the R2D2 D2 release.

    Requires root, requires that you make a freakin' nandroid backup of your current setup before installing it (or you're a doofus), requires you follow install instructions accurately, and requires that you report your findings/results.
     

    Advertisement
  2. lukesdiesel

    lukesdiesel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    7
    You try it yet?
     
  3. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    I've installed and booted up and am signing in on my primary account so I can go explore...others have reported that they have been able to boot up as well. So this appears to at least load and get started OK.

    Have to test and see what may work or not work... :)
     
  4. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Swype won't swype - only works if I type - anyone else?
     
  5. RJT185

    RJT185 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    51
    I might be tempted to sitdown and try it this weekend. How easy would it be to revert back to the old set-up version if it didn't end up jiving properly??
     
  6. Cilraaz

    Cilraaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    19
    It should be as easy as restoring a Nandroid backup. That's all I had to do to revert from 2.3.15. I suppose a worst case scenario would require an SBF flash to 2.2.20 followed by restoring your Nandroid backup.

    [edit: Curse my poor cell reception at work. It's taking forever to FTP this file to my phone. I might try to install it without wiping data the first time, since with my horrid reception here, it would take forever to re-download all of my apps.]
     
  7. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Swype won't work w/this leak after install.

    Removed the included Swype, installed the one from the D2 system dump, that won't work either.

    You can type on both, but swyping is disabled.

    So if you are swype-dependent, this won't be good for you until someone figures out how to make it work...
     
  8. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    2.4.0 does fix the battery manager FC that is in 2.3.15 when you tap on the battery icon, and includes the 2.3.15 fix for contacts linked to facebook accounts not displaying phone numbers.
     
  9. Cilraaz

    Cilraaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    19
    Does the camera work with this? I know that was an issue in 2.3.15.
     
  10. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Camera and video worked fine for me - didn't find any issues, in fact, other than Swype.
     
  11. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    I'd like to compare swype versions between 2.3.15 and 2.4.0.

    If you have 2.4.0 installed what version do you see in Applications>Manage>All Apps for Swype?

    in the 2.3.15 leak the version number is: 1.64.40.9380
     
  12. Cilraaz

    Cilraaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    19
    If nobody else gets back to you on this, I will as soon as I get it loaded. Unfortunately, it's still FTP'ing to my phone. Stupid 1 bar of 1X...
     
  13. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Thanks...that'll be a long wait. Too bad you don't have wifi access.
     
  14. Cilraaz

    Cilraaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    19
    My workplace does have WiFi access, but only for authorized devices. Oddly enough, a rooted Droid 2 isn't on the authorized device list. :p
     
  15. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Narrow minded bureaucrats! ;)

    I trust your D2 implicitly.
     
  16. droid37

    droid37 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Might have to try this out. Getting random reboots running epic 2.5
     
  17. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    The swype version on 2.3.15 and 2.4.0 are the same - was able to confirm that.

    Some people are not having problems w/Swype, so it appears it may be an intermittent thing...

    There may be some improvements w/wifi w/2.4.0, but no mass of data/reports yet.
     
  18. Cilraaz

    Cilraaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    19
    I installed this over my rooted 2.2.20 without deleting data or cache. Everything looks good (aside from swype saying it's for another device). I did lose root, though, so I need to redo that quick.
     
  19. ilkjester

    ilkjester New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Updated from 2.3.15 I lost root. Tried the one click method and it did not work. Tried to root my phone through the command prompt again and I got stuck with mounting the system after pushing all the files and I got permission denied. Yes I had the # symbol after adb shell. Any ideas. I successfully rooted my phone with 2.2 on the exact same computer. Weird.
     
  20. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
  21. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Evidently if you replace all references to "r2d2" to "droid2" in the build.prop file, that may make swype work. Others are reporting succes....
     
  22. Cilraaz

    Cilraaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    19
  23. ilkjester

    ilkjester New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The one clicked method worked for me and 2.3.15. It did not work on 2.4.0 either. i used the the windows command prompt for 2.2.2 and 2.4.0
     
  24. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    clos1084 likes this.
  25. Cilraaz

    Cilraaz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    19
    Is there any benefit to this version over the initial release, other than blur/apps being removed?
     

Share This Page

Loading...