1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Raketu vs Skype & other VOIP Programs


Last Updated:

  1. tiredhiker

    tiredhiker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    Raketu has a online program for G1's at Raketu Android - Log In BUT when I tried to use it it wants to call my phone. Is this a Call back service? Website says 1 cents to call the USA but when I tried it wants 17 cents a minute so I tried a 1 800 number and again it wants 17 cents a minute. If I am using WiFi and connected to their website in the USA and making a call in the USA why are they trying to charge 17 cents a minute? Skype STILL will not allow Vietnam users with G1's call at all. Its been a LONG TIME... Can someone make a VOIP Program that works and does what it should. That is using WiFi I should be able to make a cheap US Call !!!!!!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Like All VOIP service they have Land-line costs and leased services to pay for ... so if any part of an outbound or inbound call requires landline or leased services, then it makes sense for them to charge...
     
  3. tiredhiker

    tiredhiker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    They wrote back and they do have a call out service that is 1 cents a minute BECAUSE I would be connected to their website in the USA. Just one little problem. Its Flash Based..... So when do we get our Flash 10 lite ? Its April 28.... Where is our CupCake...... Where is the Open Source Phone I paid $400 usd for ?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
     
  4. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    You can start your writing campaign to Adobe for Flash ... it isn't going to happen without them !!!
     
  5. tiredhiker

    tiredhiker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    TruPhone now has an Ap and its 5 cents a minute... I could live with that. BUT Its the only program I have downloaded that Force Closes 100% of the time. Hope they fix it.
     
  6. farazpcc

    farazpcc New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. tiredhiker

    tiredhiker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    The problem is that I am in Vietnam. There is no reason other than profit is using a landline to Vietnam. I am connected to WIFI so why do these programs want to call the USA. With WIFI I am already there. Now that I got Cupcake SIPDROID is working I just nahe to set it up. Then I HOPE it will work and cheap too. Took me awile to find the Walkie Talkie program since my Market does not have paid aps but I found it on his site and it works BUT other person must have a G1. They say they might make a website program for sufers to "Talk" with a G1 user. If so that would work to but slowly. Now if only they would give us FLASH..... Then we could use whats already there and working. I could then call the USA for 1 cents a minute if ONLY Flash we had...
     
  8. sheilap

    sheilap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    It is hard enough being away from your friends and family but when you can call home for just about nothing, it makes it a bit easier!
     
  9. tiredhiker

    tiredhiker Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    2
    Its been awile since I made that post. My sipdroid (free/full) hooked up to Gizmo5 is working well. No problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...