Random FreezingGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. sortsol

    sortsol Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi,

    I haven't seen this mentioned. Maybe I shouldn't be so picky, but my phone will randomly freeze. Sometimes it will become unresponsive and I have to press the power button and shut it off and press it again to turn it back on and all is fine. Sometimes I will wake it up and it will be unresponsive for a 6-10 seconds and then it will work fine.

    On a possibly unrelated note, the keyboard acts up now and then also. I'll press the backspace button and some random letter will come up on the screen.

    I've restored to factory settings once and that didn't fix anything.

    Just wanted to see if other people's phones are doing the same thing. If they are, then I'll live with it and assume a software update will fix it. If not, then I may see about getting it replaced.

    Thanks,

    Mike
     

    Advertisement
  2. zemerick

    zemerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    130
    Mine is most definately NOT doing this. Just to confirm...after the factory reset, you didn't install any apps, correct?

    My first inclination would be a problematic App.

    You could have a bad phone that needs to be replaced.
     
    sortsol likes this.
  3. 5thElement

    5thElement Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    50
    No issues here...never froze once.
     
    sortsol likes this.
  4. sortsol

    sortsol Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5

    Yeah, I thought apps also, that's why I did the factory restore. Without installing any apps, it has the same problem. I called customer service, and she told me to take it to a corporate store.... Problem is that it's completely random (although in a 10 minute period of using the phone, I can almost always reproduce it.)
     
  5. zemerick

    zemerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    130
    Yea, I'de take it in, and make sure they know sometimes it takes over 10 mins for it to happen. If you can find anything that makes it happen more frequently, make sure to note that. ( Like perhaps having a certain game running it might crash more often. )
     
  6. SamMax

    SamMax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    1,683
    After I install an app and I got to the notification bar on top to "clear" the message, the notification bar will not swipe down for a few seconds...I did have the freeze up you refering too but just once.
     
  7. irish

    irish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    26
    Mine did the exact same thing. It did it during my first start up. My wifes is perfect, but mine would freeze ALL the time. I would have to push the top button as well or use the optical joy stick. I did a factory reset (wipe) late last night. I had a down loaded live wall paper that I think was my issue. It has been ok so far. If it happens again, I'm going to Verizon to check on the update or exchange it.
     
  8. Doc_Stew

    Doc_Stew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    12
    Out of curiosity, what is the factory warranty on this phone? One year, right? So if any mechanical defects like this happen, we should get it replaced for free, right?
     
  9. starogreen

    starogreen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    10
    Min eas doing the EXACt SAME THING yesterday and this am. I turned off and on and it has been okay for a bit. I, too, will be bringing it in if this continues. I was SOOOOO upset last night and this am b/c I really love the phone. And the thought of having to re-link contacts and everything is making me wanna puke if I have to have factory re-installed.
     
  10. PMG

    PMG Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    No freezing or locking up during use here, but I have noticed it rebooting itself twice in the last 2 days.
     
  11. Fantasma

    Fantasma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    12
    Mine also randomly freezes specially when low battery, I usually have to remove the batter because the home keys are locked and the top button does not do anything...

    Maybe I have a big problem if it continues I will take it to verizon/
     
  12. BCM

    BCM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    20
    I am experiencing frequent freezing or lock ups. Typically the most recent apps used box will pop up and it freezes from there. Mind you I didn't long press the home button or anything but it behaves like I did.

    Your not alone.
     
  13. HTCIncredible

    HTCIncredible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Never had mine freeze not even once. Bring it back!
     
  14. SDmtnbkr

    SDmtnbkr Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    13
    Mine's doing the same thing!!!! I got the phone the day it came out and it started a few days ago after the update and loading up a bunch of music. It froze so bad yesterday I had to take the battery out to restart it! And the keyboard issue is happening more and more. I can click in the box but when I type, it doesn't show up.

    I'm going to wait for the next update before calling cause I don't want to have to go though reconfiguring all my settings again. Hopefully the next update will fix it.
     
  15. Fantasma

    Fantasma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    12
    +1 mine does it at least two times a day and it freezes everything where I have to actually remove the battery to get it to work..
     

Share This Page

Loading...