Random rebootingSupport


Last Updated:

  1. JunBringer

    JunBringer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,186
    Likes Received:
    337
    Anybody else having lots of random reboots? Mine happens when I'm doing stuff and when it's just in my pocket. No consitantcy at all.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    387
    Mine hasn't rebooted once since I got it. If it were me I think I'd consider getting it replaced.
     
  3. Quantizer

    Quantizer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yep, the phone has rebooted several times or crashed in the past two days since getting it, with no obvious reason why. Had to pull the battery at least four times. Most annoying is to discover upon reboot that the apps stored on the SD card that had icons on the desktop need to have their icons recopied to the desktop to replace the annoying Android icon placeholders. At least the apps themselves still work, but I've already had to recreate my desktop screens (which are quite full) twice. Not fun, not even a little bit. No, I have not installed any additional task killer apps.
     
  4. omaha3D

    omaha3D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been having a lot of random reboots. Sometimes 3-4 an hour or more. Most of the time it just happens when the phone is asleep in my pocket or on the table. Other times while I'm using an app it will either hang or the screen will blank and the buttons will light up until it finally restarts itself or I do a battery pull.

    Working last night and again today, I may have noticed one factor that's contributing to mine. When I'm at home, I've usually got the wireless on because I don't get the best signal at home and spend a lot of time on the web. At work, however, I don't have wireless access and am (supposedly) doing my job. Thus, at work I turn off the wireless. In about 10 hours at work last night/today, it hasn't rebooted once. Within a half hour of being home with the wireless turned on, it started rebooting again. Anyone else noticed the rebooting tied to wireless? Anyone have any thoughts about a fix? Or is this something that would likely warrant taking the phone in and trying to get it replaced?
     
  5. treven21

    treven21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    46
    No random reboots here.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  6. SDRebel

    SDRebel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    I had one reboot. I think I was opening the browser or something like that. I also had to reboot once because the phone or app launcher wouldn't do anything at all
    kinda buggy :(
     
  7. onpointG35

    onpointG35 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    19
    I second that don't wait and c if it will happen again when I had my Cliq xt it would reboot on a daily basis and hasn't stopped
     
  8. NCHornet

    NCHornet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    8
    Nope, it hasn't rebooted one time since I got it on Friday. If it has I didn't realize it. Hope you get it worked out.
     
  9. Dooderino

    Dooderino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    17
    Mine did it once only and I wasn't on wireless. No other real problems
     
  10. TheNewTherapy

    TheNewTherapy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    My girlfriends EVO 3D has re-booted 5 or 6 times already today. And she just got hers today around noon. She had to pull the battery the last time it did it because it completely froze up on her. I told her to take it back to Sprint tomorrow.

    Mine EVO 3D however I've had since friday and haven't had a single problem. I feel bad for my old lady.
     
    jaxandjokers likes this.
  11. JunBringer

    JunBringer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,186
    Likes Received:
    337
    It's slowed down quite a bit. I don't think it did any today and only a few yesterday. I'll see how it goes before I take it back. Thanks for all of your input everybody!
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  12. Panthro

    Panthro Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Guys, I know the EVO 4G will reboot if an app has an issue that cannot be resolved through force closing or the OS itself. Have you tried wiping all your apps for a day and seeing if you still get the reboots? Then adding some of those apps back. Not all apps can coexist with one another.
     
    JunBringer likes this.
  13. JunBringer

    JunBringer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,186
    Likes Received:
    337
    If it comes back up I'll do that for sure, thanks!

    Also great username!
     
  14. mricketts

    mricketts Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    No reboots for me
     
  15. natorade93

    natorade93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    15
    same problem but only with one app, astro file manager, couple times now the icon went bad on reboots
     
  16. dvalmont

    dvalmont Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    Happened to me once and I believe it was app related. If i recall correctly I think it gave me a force close message AFTER the reboot which I thought a little odd.
    The app was some comic strip reader app.
     
  17. novasource

    novasource Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just got my EVO 3D today. Immediately let OTA updates install, then did hard reset. Since then, it has spontaneously rebooted a few times and even locked up once, where the screen is black and the four bottom buttons are lit.

    Twice, it stopped responding to hard that I had to remove the battery to get it to respond.

    All this happened while it was idle or in my pocket.

    I don't have anything exotic installed. In fact, had the problems before I even installed much of anything.

    Besides a few apps, I do have Activesync enabled to sync with an Exchange server. Our corporate policies, as forced by ActiveSync, require power on numeric PIN, so there is no possibility of it getting powered on inadvertently.

    And, wow, it just happened again, simply while laying on my chest while I was typing this! Powered off completely. Unresponsive to any button presses. Had to remove battery again.
     
  18. Quantizer

    Quantizer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    6
    This is the EXACT problem my phone is having. The four bottom buttons light up, but the screen is black. Only solution seems to be a battery pull, which I've done several times since getting the phone on Friday.

    Yes, it's loaded with apps, but it's interesting that you're having the reboots even after a hard reset.
     
  19. Panthro

    Panthro Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Why would you do a factory reset after receiving your phone if nothing is wrong with it? After installing the OTA updates you should reboot the phone because of the phone app missing from the lockscreen, but otherwise a hard reset (factory reset) isn't warranted or necessary.

    After you did a factory reset did you update your profile and PRL?
     
  20. novasource

    novasource Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is a corporate-provided phone. I did a factory reset because IT junior staff did initial setup, so I could not see what options they selected for me.

    Factory reset shouldn't make things any worse, so not sure why it's even an issue.

    Yes.

    Yesterday evening, I did a 2nd factory reset, roughly 7 PM. Went to Settings > System updates an hour later, and the only thing needing an update was HTC software update. Firmware, profile, PRL found no updates needed.

    HTC software update identified 4 updates. I installed them.

    My last lock up was a few minutes before yesterday evening's 2nd factory reset. So far it's been fine.
     
  21. novasource

    novasource Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do apps even matter if you aren't running them? My impression was they don't load until first invoked?

    As per my prior note, I did a 2nd factory reset last night and discovered I had a few updates pending at Settings > System updates. Not sure what made the difference, but it has been stable since then.
     
  22. Putty

    Putty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    56
    It randomly reboots. It's done it maybe 4 times total since launch day. Should I exchange or is that not really that many times to be concerned.?
     
  23. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,268
    Likes Received:
    7,837
    Nope it is most likely an app you downloaded that is causing the issue, did it do this before you downloaded any apps, you you remember, I have gotten it a couple of times myself, but IMO I think it is app related.


     
  24. Putty

    Putty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    56
    I didn't really play with it w/out apps on it, so I can't give you an answer.
     
  25. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    I'd try a hard reset then see what happens.
     

Share This Page

Loading...