Randomly turns off, and requires battery pull to turn on?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    17
    Anyone else deal with this, I will use it like 30 seconds prior, lock the screen and go to pick it up and nothing, I have to pull the battery and reboot.

    Happens a couple times a month maybe, usually happens when I am actually trying to do something.

    I am currently running on Nonsensikal 8.8 but it did it on Ivans 1.0 and Nonsensikal 7.5 as well. It may have done it on the stock 2.1 rom as well, but I cannot remember. It seems to happen more often now that it is on Froyo though.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    There are a few possibilities: Task killers configured to work in the background, and removal of some apps, after rooting.

    Given no hardware issues, I'd first remove any task killers, do a live battery pull, wait a few minutes, restore the battery and boot up.
     
  3. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    17
    I have not been running ANY task killers since I left the 2.1 roms. As far as removed apps, I personally have not removed any extras. I flash the rom as is.
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    This issue is posted around different Android device forums, and it seems to be more prevalent in 2.2 than 2.1.

    It is my opinion that there are different reasons for it happening with those two versions of the OS.

    If I had ever seen those symptoms on my Eris (or any other device) I'd first do as I posted above, then I'd unroot and do a factory data reset and watch for the shut downs. If the issue continued I'd get another device.
     
    Eris1981 likes this.
  5. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Are you running SetCPU by any chance? If so, does this lockup happen if you uninstall SetCPU?
     
  6. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    17
    Good to know, if it gets worse I will unroot and see if it continues. It hasn't been real bothersome, but if it was simply a setting that maybe I hadn't changed I figured I would mess with it.

    I should try uninstalling it... I don't use it anyway. The last major lockup I had was a result of using set CPU, and I only went to 768. I leave it at 710 and never have issues, other then this once or twice a month. I never turn the phone off, so rebooting it doesn't bother me much coming from a Storm1 that I had to do a battery pull once a day.
     
  7. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    I was having some trouble like that only when I was using SetCPU on the Froyo ROMs running the new BFS and CFS kernels; all of the latest releases of the Froyo ROMs for Eris are using Conap's CFS kernel (or a variant). Once I removed SetCPU I had no problem.

    Of course, that doesn't explain why you were having the problem with Ivan's, though. Still, try running without it - all of the Froyo ROMs are overclocked anyway.
     
  8. Eris1981

    Eris1981 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    17
    I will definitely try this right away! Thanks!
     
  9. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    I've been having this issue running xtrSENSE 4.1. The problem started after I flashed 4.2 but happened a LOT which is why I restored back to 4.1. It has happened a few times, the most recent of which was last night. I do run SetCPU but I'd rather keep it because my phone runs much smoother at 768 than 710. I guess I'll try going without for a week and see if the problem persists. Anybody have any other suggestions?
     
  10. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    I went to my doctor once and told him that my shoulder hurts every time that I do "this". "What can I do to stop my shoulder hurting," I asked. "Stop doing 'this'," he replied.

    Stop overclocking to 768.
     
  11. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    Like I said, I didn't have the problem until I upgraded to 4.2, never happened on 4.1 which is why I switched back and my phone has been running at 768 flawlessly for 3 months so smartass comments aren't necessary, I was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions other than the use of setCPU.
     
  12. nomarsgirl

    nomarsgirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    68
    I've had problems with my phone shutting off randomly too (although it does not require a battery pull to turn on). I am running Kaos v36 and I do not run Set CPU. It only happens when the phone is on the charger. Was very annoyed this morning when my alarm didn't go off. Checked the phone and found it had powered down. The phone was fully charged.
     
  13. mrhomiec

    mrhomiec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    60
    this started to me yesterday, i'm running nonsensikal 9.0.
    i was listening to music, the song ended, but then the next
    song never started, checked my phone and it was off. there
    was no animation as i had my phone in my view the entire
    time. had to remove battery to turn it back on.

    then something different happened later in the day. i went
    to unlock my phone, slide to unlock, the numbers displayed
    and disappeared really fast, no time, no status bar. so i
    then locked it, turned the screen on, and now no slide to
    unlock. just saw my background with nothing else displaying.
     
  14. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    I noticed similar things happening with Kaos Froyo last month after I had installed the CFS kernel (which is now what all of the Froyo ROMs are running, except Kaos has optimized his - but at the time I was running stock Conap CFS.) I was also running SetCPU. Once I uninstalled SetCPU, the phone never did this again, and it continued to run just as fast, and the battery lasted just as long.

    You don't mention SetCPU, but, if you are running it, try uninstalling it and see if the freezing stops.
     
  15. mrhomiec

    mrhomiec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    60
    i used to run Set CPU when i was using xtrROM, but ever since
    i made the switch to Froyo, i haven't used it since. i never installed
    or updated anything prior to this happening. i think i flashed it on
    mon/tues last week, prolly updated 3 apps a few days later, and
    so it's technically been a week since having it.

    so far nothing today.
     
  16. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    57
    Same here, 768 locks up my phone. Also check for a problem with your power button.
     
  17. TamaraO

    TamaraO New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Galaxy S does the exact same thing. A month after I bought it, I had to send it in for repair because it shut off and would not boot up again past the flashing S. They told me that it happens two weeks after you try to unlock your phone - which I did not. Now, I have had it back for about a month, and it shuts off whenever it feels like it. Nothing fancy installed because I don't know enough. Not even Task Killers. All I have downloaded since the device was flashed with Froyo 2.1 Update 1 is a few games for myself and my kids, and a Child Lock app so that my toddler doesn't ruin anything. Apparently she doesn't need to as it can do that by itself.
     

Share This Page

Loading...