Re-root for recovery partition?


Last Updated:

  1. Fathawk

    Fathawk Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I am pretty sure I have root, as if I open emulator and SU It goes $ to #. I am running build "2.19.605.1 CL123435 test_keys" and everything seems stable. It's funny that I'm running 2.1 because I never flashed the ROM, I couldn't get past recovery partition set-up.

    When I try to press power+up volume all I get is the yellow triangle exclamation point with the android cartoon. This is where I stopped on my first attempt. When I powered the phone back up, it's running 2.1.

    Can I re-download the recovery partition .zips and re-flash the root ROM to start all over? I'm thinking my DL's of some of the recovery images may have been corrupted. I'm thinking since I have root, re-flashing the root ROM shouldn't hurt anything right?

    Kinda green here, it took me a long time to realize why there a bunch of different files with the same name, but not the same contents (pmb). I'm assuming that's the only filename that the boot loader will recognize.:eek:
     

    Advertisement
  2. char561

    char561 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    Well since you are already rooted all you need to do is just put the recovery back on the phone and then do a data and cache wipe and reflash whatever rom you want
     
  3. T2noob

    T2noob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    98
    the rooted rom is just 2.1 with developer permissions so since you rooted you got 2.1.
    If you can't get a recovery on go into the irc irc.thefuzz4.net #erisroothelp
    There might be another way to get recovery on there, but this may be a long shot.
    Download ROM MANAGER and then try flashing the recovery from inside the app, I say this is a long shot because since you are on the original root rom you don't have SU.apk , but who knows you might not need it. Im just throwing up ideas hoping one helps you out =p
     
  4. Fathawk

    Fathawk Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    got it, pretty sure the downloads were corrupted as the second time it worked.

    Thanks
     
  5. chris22

    chris22 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I'm having the same problem too, with the droid, and the exclamation point. I have a mac, and I put the recovery flash and the image on my SD card, but cant get it to work. What should I do?

    Thanks.
     
  6. rdking

    rdking Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem on my eris is there another way to get the recovery image
     

Share This Page

Loading...