Ready to root: how to add new roms? (droid mod)


Last Updated:

  1. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    201
    Hey guy,

    I decided its time for me to root, ive enjoyed stock droid for a while, but now i want more!

    I understand how to root, that isnt the issue,

    Im not sure how to install custom roms. I really want to use Droidmod 1.0

    I dled it, it comes as a .tgz file. How do i go about installing it?


    any links would be appreciated, thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Sitting Duck

    Sitting Duck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    Go to droidmod.org on your phone's browser and scroll down to section where it says "Click this link directly from your phone's browser," click the link and follow the instructions. You can do it all from the phone without having to use a PC.
     
    MarcMaiden likes this.
  3. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    201
    thanks,

    found everything and im booting up droidmod already!

    my next question:


    can i still dl root-only files with this rom? or am i limited to what ever is compatible to this rom?
     
  4. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    18
    Everything... including all the rooter apps.

    First app to install: setcpu - lets you make that droid do more than the 550 stock clock speed.

    wifi tether: Gotta have if your always in a place you need access to the internet on a computer or other internet device. No wires needed ;).

    Temp Monitor: Lets keep an eye on your battery and CPU temps.


    Have some fun... and dont forget to check out some of the great other roms out there... do some reading in this section of the forum.
     
    MarcMaiden likes this.
  5. Sitting Duck

    Sitting Duck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    If you've rooted successfully and have flashed DroidMod then you can use any app that requires root access. When the app prompts for root access be sure to click the box for always allow. A bit of advice, go to rootyourdroid.info and do some reading, especially on how Nandroid backup and SPRrecovery works. Also, make sure you read the sections on how to get your phone back to stock with no root in case you ever need to return it for a warranty repair. The DMupdater app has an option that allows you to return to stock with no root fairly easily but it's dependent on the DroidMod folks being in business so you should be familiar with how to do it without relying on them. Finally, be sure to pick up SetCPU from the market which allows you to overclock the processor for better performance. Just be sure to set up the profiles so that the phone doesn't run at top clock speed when it sleeps, charges or when the battery temp exceeds about 40 degrees Celsius. There are threads here on what everyone thinks the best balance is.
     
  6. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    201
    thanks! first thing i did was install setcpu already!


    i guess its time for me to enter the root game,

    thanks for your helo
     
  7. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    201
    here is another question:

    where can i go to find root-only apps?
     
  8. Sitting Duck

    Sitting Duck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    Go to the market and do a search on "root." But seriously, before you go much further, do a Nandroid backup of your current setup in case anything you do screws up something.
     
  9. MarcMaiden

    MarcMaiden Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    201
    did that aready thanks!!!
     
  10. Sitting Duck

    Sitting Duck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    Check out Google Earth. Pretty cool but note that that it will use 22 mb or so.
     

Share This Page

Loading...