Ready to root using Fresh Kitchen 1.0.5.3 auto rooter, have questions though


Last Updated:

  1. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    I passed all the root tests in Fresh Kitchen and am ready to root. It is not clear to me if I need to wipe (I have stock ROM, don't think I need to wipe from what I read but want to be sure).

    Don't know if I need to have SD card mounted before starting rooting process. This is unclear in everything I read.

    Don't know when and how the backup process is done, after the Root or before? The backup process is unclear also.

    Don't know what RA is? I see it referred to but can't figure it out.

    I watched the videos on Fresh Kitchen 1.0.5.3 and am still unclear on the questions above.

    Are there written instruction on how to use Fresh Kitchen 1.0.5.3 to Root?

    I cooked my own ROM using Fresh Kitchen, that part was easy.

    On a side note, has anyone else noticed their location on the home weather screen being incorrect? I am in Ankeny, IA and it is showing Crocker, IA. I rebooted but that didn't help.

    Thanks in advance. :D
     

    Advertisement
  2. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    You don't need to wipe to root your phone..

    you only do a wipe when you're about to install a ROM....
     
  3. rhotondm

    rhotondm Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    The RA screen is also know as the recovery screen. You will only be able to see this screen after your phone is rooted. You should only cook a rom on kitchen after your phone is rooted. Once your phone is rooted you need to turn it off and then hold down the home key then power on the phone keeping the home key held down till the green RA screen pops up. That is where you will wont to do a nandroid backup. Once completed the backup file will be saved on your SD card in the nandroid folder. Mount the phone to your computer while still in RA mode by clicking toggle usb. Drag a copy of the nandroid backup onto your desktop. Then you can drag the custom rom of your liking onto your SD card. Just to be safe on your first rom I would do a data/factory wipe then flash the rom from your SD card. Once the flash is complete you will be prompted back to the RA screen and then you will reboot. The reboot process could take between 8 to 12 minutes. So be patient.
    And the phone does not need to be mounted in order for kitchen to perform the root. IN the root screen on kitchen after the tests and checks are completed you could check the first option box that auto reboots the phone into RA mode. Then you are good to go with the other steps.
    Hope that helps.
     
    Dr Evil likes this.
  4. ptamburino

    ptamburino Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    where can I find this auto rooter? somebody please link to it!
     
  5. HTCZero

    HTCZero Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    make sure you update it. the newest version is pretty easy mode, although I had issues with it and just went and rooted flashed manually which is seriously very very easy.

    It's all in the FAQ really.
    [GUIDE] How To Root The Sprint CDMA Hero (Windows) - xda-developers

    This is the root part, the FAQ might have too much info.
    Seriously I had issues with kitchen rooting and did it manually no prob.
     
  6. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
  7. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did something wrong because after I hit root it went all the way to the end of the process and appeared to be done when my phone showed an exclamation point in a triangle with a phone laying besides it. I disconnected from the computer and tried to boot into RA using the home key down while power on and it went to the triangle thing again.

    I was able to turn the phone on normally and get HTC to show and everything there looked normal. I just can't do a Nandroid back up so I can flash later plus I don't know if I'm really rooted or not.

    Sometimes things don't work as easily as they should (and I'm a techie, just not with phones!) :D

    Oh, I forgot. I also got an error in yellow:

    E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command

    and in Blue it gives me choices to:

    reboot system now (which is what I always chose)
    Apply sdcard:update.zip
    wipe data/factory reset
     
  8. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, I found this:
    I have recovery-RA-heroc-v1.6.2.img on my SD card (in the root)

    Will the quoted instructions above get me to where I need to be?
     
  9. Dr. Glockenspiel

    Dr. Glockenspiel Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey man, I had the same issue last night when I tried to root with Fresh Kitchen. The triangle/phone symbol means you're trying to boot into recovery mode but you aren't rooted. I'm not sure what went wrong, possibly something to do with USB debugging, but in the end I gave up and rooted manually. It was easier than trying to get the kitchen to work. Follow the instructions here to manually root.
     
    Dr Evil likes this.
  10. jmonahan

    jmonahan Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had the same problem, triangle with phone. I restarted my phone and everything is fine. However i do not know if i am rooted. Is there a way to just see if it worked?
     
  11. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Seriously people...Not to be mean, but Read the Guide and use the search key. I just woke up and have seen 3 questions that are all answered in the FAQ/Guide. Read it.............please..............Almost all of your questions have been answered already. Many people have had problems just like this, and we have answered how to help already. The guide walks you through rooting step by step. You have to take your time, read read and read more. This is not something you just jump into. Sure an auto root is nice, but only when it works. If you have problems, just do it manually....................
     
    Jero likes this.
  12. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278


    Technically, after step 10 you are "officially rooted" as it states in the Guide. However, if you can not boot into recovery, you can not make a nandroid backup and can not flash a ROM. Thus, you are "rooted" but not finished.....
     
    Jero likes this.
  13. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1

    I will try to do it manually, if that works then you need to do that to. I will let you know.
     
  14. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    :mad: How can you manually root when the link in this step doesn't work?

    Step 2: Download the asroot2 exploit file from http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...2&d=1257621154 Extract asroot2.zip to C:\android-sdk-windows\tools folder.

    I did a google search on asroot2.zip and I get tons of references to it but zero links to the actual file.

    Never mind, you have to register at xda to get access to the file so that's what I'll do, Should go smooth after that.
     
  15. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, here is a weird situation I am running into (I have Win 7 as OS)

    I am at step 17 and when I cd to /sdcard/ it seems to work but after a second it goes back to the C: drive directory C:\android-sdk-windows\tools\

    It doesn't let me type the flash command before it switches back to the sdk folder.
    I remounted the USB card and verified USB Debugging is on but can't get it to stop

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  16. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Step 18 - I unmounted the SD Card and it gave me more time. I was able to do this step but it seemed to go pretty fast.

    Step 19 - By the time I typed "Reboot Recovery" it had changed back to the sdk folder so I started over and it rebooted but it stopped with exclamation point and phone (exactly where I started this thread). I was hoping the manual steps would get rid of the exclamation/phone but it doesn't appear to have worked.

    [​IMG]

    I think I'm in purgatory!
     
  17. revlis240

    revlis240 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    i didnt read this entire post. But with me and kitchen, i also got the triangle error. All you have to do is flash it using the older RA, there is an option for it in kitchen and the tutorial video specifically mentions it. For me even though i checked off install old RA, it rooted and i was running 1.6.2

    did you try that
     
  18. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Solution was to reboot Win 7 and phone and retry steps 15-19.

    The rest went smoothly.

    Thanks for all the help.
     
  19. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Glad to hear you got it working for you Dr Evil. Congrats!
     
  20. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks to you, ccapasso for the clear step by step instructions!
     

Share This Page

Loading...