Real quick on the H+ Logo.. it doesn't mean you are in 4G


Last Updated:

  1. Yaken

    Yaken Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    8
    The towers have been updated for hspa+ but even if there is no backhaul you still still get a H+. Doesn't mean you are getting 4G speeds though, it just means that your cell tower has been upgraded for HSPA+ but there is no fiber running to the tower.

    So don't fret if your data speeds are at 3G levels. You are probably just getting 3g data :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. AndreaCristiano

    AndreaCristiano Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    222
    So once the backhaul is released it will start right?
     
  3. Yaken

    Yaken Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    8
    yeah. You don't need to do a thing. But they need to replace the copper with fiber for faster data
     
  4. AndreaCristiano

    AndreaCristiano Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    222
    I was asking rhetorically because everyone on here is tripping out. Even though there is no backhaul till after march first.
     
  5. Yaken

    Yaken Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah :p Figured I'd just post this so people know whats up.
    One a side note still pulling almost 3mbps down on 3g. no complaints here
     
  6. Blanco720

    Blanco720 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    23
    I'm using a phone with WiFi for the first time ever. This thing is impossibly fast. Seriously, go get a bbq 9700 and play with it for.an hour just so you can see what a beast this thing is, even without true h+!
     
  7. kb58

    kb58 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    18
    "Wifi" and "H+whatever" have nothing to do with each other - they're completely different frequencies. Wifi goes direct to a cable modem nearby, which bypasses the entire phone network and cell towers and is why it's so much faster.
     
  8. Yaken

    Yaken Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    8
    yup, i actually have a 9700 :)
     
  9. Bosco3

    Bosco3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting the H+ logo when I'm using my 3g microcell...
     
  10. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    292
    So what does the checkmark under the H+ mean when you're connected to wifi?
     
  11. AndreaCristiano

    AndreaCristiano Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    222
    you beat ne too it i was just gonna ask this lol
     
  12. Allenfx

    Allenfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    48
    At&t sales rep confirmed 4g NOT working in my area yet although it shows as hdpa+
     
  13. Blanco720

    Blanco720 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    23
    I understand that.
     
  14. Shad0w26

    Shad0w26 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. Blanco720

    Blanco720 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    23
    Thats the worst coverage map I have ever seen. (in terms of functionality, not actual coverage)
     
  16. AndreaCristiano

    AndreaCristiano Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    222
    map worked on chrome for me and at the bottom of the page it says it wont be available till Marc 31st
     

Share This Page

Loading...