Rebel Sim card


Last Updated:

  1. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    Hi

    has anybody successfully used a Rebel SIM card as a simple way to unlock an Orange UK Hero please. I know the pros and cons of other ways of unlocking but I am just trying to understand this way.

    Does it work?
    There is mention of some sort of software installed on the phone - does that work in Android?
    Can you use it to download Data? If so do you have to change all the APN settings to do so.
    Can it be used with the new SIM's answerphone?
    Do I have to trim the SIM dard in any way?

    I am happy with Orange in the UK (have to be since I have an 18 month contract!). However when I am in another country (e.g. USA or South Africa) I find it cheaper to buy a local PAYG SIM and pop it in my phone. That way no nasty Roaming bills when I get home. Will it work with SIMs in other countries?

    I know I could ask the supplier all these questions but I want to know the truth warts and all! ;)

    Many thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    A couple of posters in this thread appear to be using a RebelSIM successfully.
     
  3. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    Slug

    thanks for that head up. Bit of a mixed bag of reactions to them with some saying they worked and others that they did not. One even said they would be harmful, but never really gave a reason other than them being made in China. Well most things are now, and Taiwan (the home of HTC) was part of China (some would say still is!).

    What i am really after is not just if they work or not, but also how easy they are to use and to change between them and my Orange SIm, which I would be using most of the time.
     
  4. nolimit966

    nolimit966 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works absolutley perfect for me, Just had to put the APN settings in there. Not once single problem, using a t-mobile locked handset with a Vodafone simcard.
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    Hmm. I'm saying nothing.... just check the poster's sig. ;)

    I'd never used one so I can't help I'm afraid.
     
  6. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    Yep I had already noticed that but I am a newbie and don't want to upset anybody (yet!)
     
  7. Garybrazier

    Garybrazier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all

    I am new to the forum, and have a Hero locked to Orange UK.
    Loving the phone, best I have had yet and pleased I went for this rather than the i phone. I am hoping to take on some further contract work in Ireland, so will be back and forth between UK and Ireland and would like to use my Meteor SIM when in Ireland.
    I have researched changing the ROM and unlocking, but I see a lot of people having problems with this method, and it is not clear to me if the phone can easily be restored to the original ROM in case of warranty issues. Also, despite all of the good advice, it still seems a bit daunting should anything not happen as described!
    So, the Rebelsim appears to be a good alternative for me.
    Further to the earlier post, any others out there who can share their experiences using the rebelsim method?

    many thanks


    Gary
     
  8. carriee2652

    carriee2652 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys! just thought i'd let you know i have a orange locked hero. I am currently using a o2 payg sim in the phone with a rebel sim. phone and text works fine. wireless connection is great but mms and mobile internet not functioning (as o2 don't support the hero). have also tried a payg 3 sim and that doesn't seem to work at all. not sure why. still working on it. hope this helps a bit

    Carrie
     
  9. d123

    d123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    your o2 mobile internet and mms should work fine, have you entered the APN settings in the settings menu?
     
  10. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    wtf? O2 dont have to support the hero for it to work on their network. Check your settings.
     
  11. AmDaMan

    AmDaMan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the Rebel Sim and the Modaco ROM unlock the only two ways to unlock an Orange Hero?

    Which would you recommend?
     
  12. Garybrazier

    Garybrazier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Was the only 2 methods I could find.
    I think the ROM change and unlock code is probably the 'proper' way to do it, but there seemed too many possibilities for things to go wrong, and as a mere mechanical engineer, I decided on the simple method of using the Rebel sim. It appears to work fine, although I haven't tried it on Meteor in Ireland yet. Cost me
     
  13. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    Even worse for me - I'me a civil engineer! Close tolerance is getting it in the right field. Finesse is hitting it with a small hammer.
     
  14. Garybrazier

    Garybrazier Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ha! Surely your fingers are too big for the keyboard?:D
     
  15. carriee2652

    carriee2652 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes have manually entered all the different settings i can find but can't get it to work.
     
  16. carriee2652

    carriee2652 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    they claim as they do not offer the phone they do not have any settings for me to use to get my mobile internet and mms to work (and i have tried all of the different apn settings i can find online).
     
  17. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    O2 may claim that, but there are several users here who will prove otherwise. They'll have you up and running in no time. :)
     
  18. carriee2652

    carriee2652 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh please. that would be great. I am so frustrated to have such a great phone and can't use it to full capacity. actually considering moving networks just to get it to work
     
  19. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    cariee2652: suggest you start a thread requesting help on this topic.

    Also suggest a sticky with a list of known working settings for different providers. Mods?
     
  20. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,486
    A cracking suggestion.... I'll set something up today.
     
  21. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    As the now confused :confused: OP can I just ask .......

    Is the general concensus that you can use the Rebel Card for unlocking the Hero but that you need the APN settings of the provider of the SIM card you are using with the Rebel Card if you want to get data?

    If so then I think the idea of a sticky giving those would be very useful - one that people can add their ones to. Can I ask that it covers all providers (both contract and PAYG) in all countries please, as my only reason at present for using the Rebel Card will be when I am roaming and want to use a local PAYG SIM to save the exhorbitant roaming charges.

    BTW I would like to hear from anybody that has (successfully or unsuccessfully) used it in that way.
     
  22. carriee2652

    carriee2652 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for all your help dudes. it is much appreciated.

    davey APN settings still not working for me. i'm not a complete newbie but can't seem to bypass these 2 problems (mms and mobile internet). will start a fresh thread.

    Slug thanks for all your efforts buddy

    Carrie
     
  23. carriee2652

    carriee2652 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i believe this is the only way to work when using a rebel sim (well from my experience so far). hope it works better for you than it does for me

    Carrie
     
  24. carriee2652

    carriee2652 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    just to let u guys know i managed to unlock my hero last night. upgraded rom to .66 and bought an unlock code for
     
  25. rebelsimcard

    rebelsimcard New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi

    i just wanted to clarify that the entering of APN settings to make data connections to work are required with both unlocking methods code or sim

    This is a tutorial on how to add APN settings to HTC phones for your network providers. Example phone used is a HTC Hero but process is same for all HTC models.

    Android APN and Data Settings Change for HTC Phones
    Go to settings -> wireless controls
    Go to Mobile Networks -> Access Point Names
    Click Menu and select New APN
    All you need to add for most networks is just the APN setting which can be obtained from your simcards network provider
    Press Menu and Save
    You are ready and have configured data connection settings.

    here is a link to a video how to enter the APN settings in a HTC hero
     

Share This Page

Loading...