Recommended SetCPU Use


Last Updated:

  1. zackman2091

    zackman2091 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    4
    How should i use SetCPU i am pretty confused with using it and right now its not saving me any battery life what shiould i do so that it will help me
     

    Advertisement
  2. tmwilsoniv

    tmwilsoniv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    12
    What ROM/kernel combination are you running?
     
  3. zackman2091

    zackman2091 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    4
    2.6.32.15-ge2fb08e

    fresh evo 3.3.0.1 by flipz
     
  4. Flash77

    Flash77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    5
    I was wondering the same thing. I am running Fresh 3.3.0.1 with Netarchy-Toastmod 4.1.9.1 cfs Fresh compatible kernal.
     
  5. tmwilsoniv

    tmwilsoniv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    12
    If I'm not mistaken, that is the stock kernel for Fresh 3.3.0.1. ROM, which does NOT allow for over/underclocking your CPU. You can still adjust your usage profiles to achieve scaled back CPU usage in screen off mode, but your options are limited.

    The Netarchy 4.1.91.1-cfs Fresh compatible will allow you to drop your CPU as low as 128 MHz and raise it to a max 126720 MHz. Be very careful. You can screw things up royally if you don't know what you are doing.

    Other kernels may be of the HAVS variety, which adjust the voltage to attain battery/performance tweaks, and would be incompatible with SetCPU.

    If I can figure out how to send a screen shot of my SetCPU profiles I will add them to this post.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. slugbug

    slugbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    21
    I have KK's CFS kernel #11, I think that is a HAVS. Does that mean I would want to unistall or "stop" SetCPU?

    Thanks
     
  7. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
    If you are running a kernel with HAVS you can set your cpu on what you want it on boot, but you can not use any set cpu profiles. Mine is set to 998 on boot and the HAVS control my cpu usage when my phone is running like my Set Cpu profiles did.
     
    slugbug likes this.
  8. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
  9. slugbug

    slugbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    21
    I don't have any profiles set at all. I had SetCPU "auto configure" after I flashed the new kernel and it is now 998400 max and 245760 min.
     
  10. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
    that is fine with a HAVS kernel
     
    slugbug likes this.
  11. Flash77

    Flash77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    5
    Im getting different answers for kernal types. Does all Netarchy 4.1.9.1 kernals have HAVS, or is there a difference between cfs, bfs, cfs Fresh compatible etc. I sense this is important in deciding to use setCPU as HAVS will conflict with the app somehow. Can someone confirm or give clear explanation. Thanks.
     
  12. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513

    All netarchy 4.1.9 and King i believe 10+ kernels are all HAVS. Again you can use set cpu to set the boot cpu but HAVS will control your cpu and there is no need for profiles with HAVS, the profiles will counteract HAVS and will cause worse battery life.
     
    Flash77 likes this.
  13. Flash77

    Flash77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    5
    What scaling setting are you using with setCPU? Conservative, On Demand, or Performance?
     
  14. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
    on demand
     
    Flash77 likes this.
  15. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Set CPU can be used as u please you can set as many profiles as you want but if you have a Kernel that implements HVAS setting profiles other than set on boot will defeat the purpose of HVAS causing horrible battery life.

    Yes I know I'm just repeating what others have already mentioned,but some members require more than just one post to fully understand and realize what its being explained.
     
    inflewence likes this.
  16. Roymus

    Roymus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    26
    Not to beat a dead horse, but I think I understand the confusion having just gone through this. If you have installed Fresh 3.3 and netarchy 4.1.9 cfs, you will be running at a default top CPU frequency of 998 mHz and min 228 mHz. You can then install SetCPU to overclock and/or underclock your phone (by adjusting the slider on the main SetCPU screen), but that's pretty much it. In other words, you should not create CPU profiles (i.e., screen off, charging, etc.) if you're using 4.1.9 cfs as the HAVS voltage scaling (which controls CPU power usage) will conflict with the SetCPU profiles if they are created.

    My experience with overclocking is: be careful. Don't just peg the slider all the way to the right or your phone will go into a boot loop. Apparently the "sweet spot" appears to be around 1100 MHz (I'm at 1190). To be safe, be sure to deselect the start on boot option in SetCPU and proceed gradually in steps...that way, if it goes into a boot loop, it will only reboot once and you can then set the slider to the setting just before you went into the loop. I don't think the underclock setting matters that much. In fact, you could make an argument that overclocking doesn't really improve things that much either...after all, it's just a 10 to 20 percent increase in CPU speed (if you're lucky). I'm somewhat new to this, so feel free to correct as needed...you won't hurt my feelings.
     
    inflewence likes this.
  17. zackman2091

    zackman2091 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    4
    So would i be better off downloading a ROM or using the stock ROM for under clocking or over clocking or just use Fresh
     
  18. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    115
    I'd like to know this as well...can I just use the stock ROM:confused:
     
  19. Roymus

    Roymus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    26
    You can use the stock ROM but you must flash a custom kernel (such as netarchy 4.1.9 cfs which I use, found in several of the above links). The stock kernel is locked at 998mHz top. Not a big deal, as even with a custom kernel you can only get about 1100mHz top anyway. I think overclocking might be a bit overrated, but it is fun anyway...I'd like to say I see some improvements but it might just be the combination of the more efficient kernel and wishful thinking :)
     
  20. Roymus

    Roymus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    26
    Also note that Fresh 3.3 in its native state also uses the stock kernel, even though it is a custom ROM. You must flash a custom kernel to overclock your phone, whether or not you are using a stock ROM is irrelevant.
     
  21. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    115
    Thanks, I'm more concerned with underclocking though. As to conserve battery life.
     
  22. thegame2388

    thegame2388 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    why dont people just use juice defender's CPU settings??
     
  23. slugbug

    slugbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    21
    I have both Juice Defender and SetCPU. I let JD auto-calibrate (if that is the correct term). I also wiped battery history while in recovery before I flashed King's #9 HAVS kernel.

    Is using both SetCpu and JuiceDefender over-kill?

    There is just so very much info out there and it's hard to tell when I/we should use one app instead of another app or in conjunction with each other.

    I still think the thing that improved my battery life the most was signed out of the f*ng Talk app - ha!
     
  24. Roymus

    Roymus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    26
    Under-clocking also requires a custom kernel. The lowest setting with stock is around 288 mHz (can't remember exactly); with custom kernel, it's 112. Again, not sure of how big a difference it makes.

    I installed JuiceDefender but I got the feeling it was impacting performance, so I removed it. No clue as to what type of impact it was having...its interface is not very intuitive though and I got the feeling it was mostly smoke and mirrors (just my opinion). I purchased SystemPanel Pro to monitor performance, much clearer picture of overall performance and battery history.
     
  25. cnrdjkr

    cnrdjkr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    juice defender was also removed from my phone. basically all it does is is turn on and off data. which I do on my own. just turn off your mobile and auto sync when your not using your phone. when you turn on the phone hit the sync all button.

    but with an extended battery, fresh 3.4 and netarchy.. my phone lasts all day

    3 hrs of Mp3
    3hrs of streaming audio
    gps on/off for 8 hrs
    phone and text
    (drive a lot for work)
    and when I get home I still have 60% with no programs controlling battery. was checking on set CPU though to increase it a little more.
     

Share This Page

Loading...