Recover from Broken Kernel install?


Last Updated:

  1. austins

    austins Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just installed BuglessBeast 0.3 and then went in and downloaded Chevy1 7slot 1ghz ULV. I clicked backup and reboot and not it isn't booting back up after 10 minutes. What do I do to bring it back to life?
     

    Advertisement
  2. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    I just had a similar problem. All I did was do a complete wipe, reinstall bugless beast, then do an advanced restore to get back your data. (Assuming you did a backup before you flashed bugless or the new kernal) after it completes. Reboot and it should be back working.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. austins

    austins Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    You have given me hope. How do I do a complete wipe? I pulled battery and try to boot with Power+X but nothing happens. It just sits on motorola logo. If I let off power+x it oges to bugless beast boot screen showing droidx logo pulsating.
     
  4. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    If you are getting to the eye just hang tight. It should boot up. But when you hold the power and x it should boot you into recovery. Which recovery image are you using?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. austins

    austins Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm using ClockwordMod Recovery and I got it to boot by just waiting like you said. Took forever though. Now I'm paranoid to reboot. How can I get the recovery working again??

    Also, how do I know which kernel ended up being installed? I go to status and it says by kernel version is 2.6.32.9-g103d848. Is that the Chevy1 I installed? How can I tell?
     
  6. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    just install a different kernel that works. No reason to wipe anything
     
  7. Jetster220

    Jetster220 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    If you updated to the latest version of Clockwork that could be your problem for getting into recovery. It happened to me yesterday, clockwork broke my recovery and I ended up having to reflash the recovery file using RSD to get into it.
     
  8. emdmao

    emdmao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    51
    Is this the first time BB booted? The first boot always take a bit longer.

    If you are paranoid or experiencing any problems I would make another backup and put several kernels on your SD card that you would like to try. Go to recovery and keep trying until you are comfortable with one. You don't need to wipe anything since you would have multiple kernels on your SD you can just install over the previous one.
     
  9. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    Woah woah... that is a bit drastic... The Clockwork recovery problem is quite widespread, however the fix is very easy and you should not have to use RSD to reflash anything.

    If you have the recovery problem, all you need to do is reboot and go into RomManager and flash alternate recovery, then re-flash to Clockwork and you should be golden. This has happened to me everytime I've updated Clockwork, it is a known issue and to my knowledge Koush is working on it.
     
  10. Maniaryan

    Maniaryan Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is why adb is the best if you get nervous touching your phone again touching your phone
     
  11. Jetster220

    Jetster220 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    Lol, yea I actually forgot and figured out that I could flash back to a older version of Clockwork that works after the fact I did all that lol. Live and learn right lol.
     
  12. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    305
    LOL... yep been there done that, how do you think I knew what the problem was... :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...