Reentering Google account login


Last Updated:

  1. kasperkr

    kasperkr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a HTC Hero the other day and when I started it the first time I must have gotten the google account password wrong, cause everytime I start the phone it says I have to reenter a valid password before it will synchronize :S

    How do I tell it the right password so I dont have to reenter it all the time??
     

    Advertisement
  2. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hi their :)

    If you manage to Log in once on the Phone then you obviously have the Right Password. Alternatively you good try logging into your Google account on a PC by going to Gmail & if you are logged in successfully then you definetly have the right password.

    If you are having problems logging in , have you tried using only the first part of the Email address as the Username. I.E. The part of the email address before the "@".

    Carl
     
  3. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    You could also try both gmail.com and googlemail.com at the end of the address.


    Chegs.
     
  4. kasperkr

    kasperkr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys, but its like it has saved the wrong password as default :S everytime I start my phone I must correct it.. is there anywhere you can change the default account settings?
     
  5. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    Try this -

    Press - Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Google Apps > "Clear data" > OK.

    This will delete the Google account details on your mobile.

    To enter new details press - Settings > Data Synchronization > Google. You'll be prompted with the set up dialogue, where you can enter your new Gmail details
     
  6. Merago

    Merago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    7
    Funnily enough, I couldn't get this to work last night. I know it has worked for me in the past as I was definitely able to do this a few weeks back, but when I tried this again last night, I couldn't get the Gmail account setup, (with the same problem that a lot of people have reported happens if you skip the initial setup) I ended up having to do a factory reset to get the Gmail account setup.
    I have a sneaky suspicion though that the problem I had may have been caused by one of my apps (maybe Advanced Task Killer?) upsetting things on startup.
    Anyway, Chegs' suggestion should work, but if it doesn't the only other way of resetting the Gmail account details at the moment is to do a hard reset.
     

Share This Page

Loading...