Reformated sd.but didnt make a back up


Last Updated:

  1. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    Is there anything I can do
     

    Advertisement
  2. Robchaos

    Robchaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    8
  3. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Did you lose much? That is, did you have much on it?
     
  4. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    Just the stuff that came with the card.
     
  5. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    so you hadn't put anything on it yet? Like pictures or music or anything terribly important?

    Because if not, it doesn't matter one bit. Anything that was on the card can be re-done by the phone's normal processes. It creates the folders based on apps that have been used
     
  6. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    how do I get apPS to go to my card
     
  7. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Enabling Apps2SD with a custom ROM is the only way currently. There's a guide around here somewhere....just a matter of formatting the card properly
     
  8. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    I am running fresh. I reformated the sd using recovery
     
  9. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    how did you format it? It's got to be the specific format for it to work, and I honestly don't remember exactly what format to do it. Once you do that formatting and reboot, the apps automatically get moved (if I remember correctly)

    They also won't appear on your card, because they go into that partitioned part (i.e. if you've got a 2GB card, and partition 512MB of it off, they go in that 512MB part). Because of the type of formatting you put the partition into, your computer won't read it.

    There's a way to check if the apps have been moved there, but I can't remember how to do it. I tried Apps2SD for awhile, and realized it wasn't worth the hassle for me.
     
  10. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    OK. I hope someone can point me in the right direction
     
  11. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Try this:

     
  12. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    I think it worked. Thanks a lot for your help.
     
  13. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    I reformated using the recovery but it still does not go to sd
     
  14. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Did you try the command above to tell if it is working?

    Keep in mind, I believe apps you currently have installed will remain where they are. If you want them on your SD Card, you would need to uninstall and re-installl them.

    I believe this is how it should work.
     
  15. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I think you might be right. Unless you reinstall the ROM after partitioning your card. If you reinstall the ROM, they should move automatically
     
  16. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    I'm installing new apps and they don't go to the sd. Should I reinstall the Rom? I reformated the sd as. Ext2. Ext3
     
  17. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    They should go then.

    Did you do that command from adb to see if they went?

    Remember, that's the only way to tell if they're on the card or not, as you can't view that partition from your computer
     
  18. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    This is what I get when I use the above command

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\*********>adb remount
    remount succeeded

    C:\Documents and Settings\*********>adb shell
    ls /system/sd/app/#
     
  19. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    Does anyone know which partition apps go to?
     
  20. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Apps go into the partition you can't see on your computer, if that makes any sense lol
     
  21. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    I understand but I Want to know which partition so o could make it the largest one.
     
  22. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    I did the command and this is what I get.

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\username>adb remount
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    remount succeeded

    C:\Documents and Settings\username>adb shell
    # ls /system/sd/app/
    ls /system/sd/app/
    com.estrongs.android.pop.apk com.facebook.katana.apk
    com.estrongs.android.taskmanager.apk com.yellowbook.android2.apk
    #

    Thanks alot for all your help. I really appreciate it.
     
  23. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    I believe they go in the ext2 partition... how large ya gonna make it? you aren't planning on downloading the entire market are you? :D
     
  24. avacomputers

    avacomputers Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    31
    I have a 2gb card. When I go to system sdcard it says I have 800mb. How much does that leave for my ext2?
     
  25. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    it leaves how ever much you partitioned it for....
     

Share This Page

Loading...