Regarding the dont factory wipe 2.1 sticky.General


Last Updated:

  1. k.electron

    k.electron Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    18
    i factory wiped. my data would get stuck on turning on. i called the programing number 778 and clicked the activate my device option. restarted, data came back on.

    i think that is all u have to do.
     

    Advertisement
    alkaseltzer likes this.
  2. Mattb7

    Mattb7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yeah I agree, I wiped mine the other day and had no issues on it. The XDA forum is saying this isnt true too and those guys wipe their phones several times a day putting new roms on them.
     
  3. waynester

    waynester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    65
    Could be certain pre-conditions must be in effect.
    IMO the wise decision would be to hold off wipe/reset til more info is out or at least research it.
    Of course rolling the dice is always an option :D
     
  4. AttorneyIncredible

    AttorneyIncredible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    17
    ummm, wacked my two days ago, no issues.

    This sounds very suspect to me.
     
  5. Le0_Br4zUc4

    Le0_Br4zUc4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    5
    I wiped my phone yesterday to install the new leak 2.2 and I have data without any problems
     
  6. teufeltexan

    teufeltexan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    28
    I've lost track of the number of times I've wiped my phone from 2.1 - easily in the couple-of-dozens...


    I do know that there are data connectivity issues with 2.2 on the Dinc (at least on the ROMS we currently have available). It's intermittent and difficult to pin down - but it's there for a fair percentage of those running 2.2)...

    How many countless thousands of factory resets have been done by the posters here and those on xda since release -and suddenly this is "swarming" since yesterday?

    1) The "factory image" hasn't changed
    2) The hardware hasn't changed
    3) The hboot hasn't changed
    4) The process hasn't changed

    I can say with 110% certainty that with all the iterations of wipes/flashes/etc that I've done from 2.1, not once have I had any data issues after the fact (with 2.2, yes but not 2.1). I'd like to see something more concrete on the advisory than what is currently posted.

    This reads far more like alarmist information than actual good scoop...
     
  7. hoffm11

    hoffm11 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do I do a factory reset if I installed froyo on my incredible?
     
  8. AJ McKay

    AJ McKay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    99
    That stickied thread should replace "will" with "may." I think anyone with root has done at least one factory reset/wipe, and I did one prior to having root that didn't cause me any problems. I'd expect many more people on here to be reporting the issue if it happened with any/all factory reset/wipes.

    I'll notice sometimes mine (root, stock 2.1, hydra UV) won't connect, but a quick Airplane mode toggle does the trick.

    Anyway, I agree that the sticky thread is a little sensational to say the least. It's close to Fox News style fear mongering if you ask me.
     
  9. waynester

    waynester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    65
    While I will agree re "may" and "will", like people that use "always" and "never" your setting yourself up for fail.
    I do appreciate any heads up of possible probs. Better to be alerted to possible probs than no warning.
     
  10. x0x

    x0x Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    59
    I didn't even see that Sticky until after I read this thread. Maybe we need a Sticky for the Sticky?

    Agree with everyone else though. Source listed as "from a source within Verizon Wireless". I wonder if it is the same source who has confirmed the iPhone4 is on it's way to Verizon.
     
  11. silverxbv2

    silverxbv2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    22
    They know the leaks are out. They want to scare you into not installing them.
     
    TheSultan, heyeaglefn and ozzynyc like this.
  12. SynisterWolf

    SynisterWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    27
    +1 I just did a wipe today and here I am on the bus using my data plan and typing this comment. Idk what he is smoking but I want some.
     
  13. waynester

    waynester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    65
    If you notice on any forum, what works for one or two does not mean it works for all.
    If it does not effect you, great !
    Your post is ☯ ,OP says it will , you say it will not, how about maybe it will/will not or it might/might not ?
     
  14. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    People calling BS or other such statements...Its not like the Sticky was put up there by a troll! Its simply a public service announcement! Nobody is putting a gun to your heads to not do a factory wipe. :confused::confused:
     
    jamor likes this.
  15. teufeltexan

    teufeltexan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    28
    I understand the nature of the post being a PSA - simply questioning the authenticity...

    It states that this issue is "swarming" since yesterday...


    Has anyone seen a single instance of this problem here, on xda, or on any other Incredible forum?

    We get two dozen posts a day about the new BW widget not being spot on or poorer than expected battery life - but the two biggest repositories of DInc info on the web haven't had any reference to a single instance of this HUGE problem?





    Bad info is bad info, regardless of the nature or spirit in which it's presented. Not calling it out as such is irresponsible and detrimental to the platform and the hardware.
     
    Mastermind and TPR300C like this.
  16. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    Listen, I am not disputing the lack of information pointing to this thing as an issue. I personally have not seen any evidence of it happening. But what we also need to take into account here is that we are not privy to issues the call centers at VZW and HTC or any other carrier deal with.

    That said, is it not also irresponsible to ignore the potential of a problem simply because we have not experienced it ourselves.

    I mean how many people have one of the phones mentioned and go into a store with issues or call tech support with issues but don't come here or go to XDA or even know these sites exist?

    I could be wrong, but I would not be surprised if 90% or higher have no knowledge these sites even exist.
     
  17. jamor

    jamor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    761
    [​IMG]
     
    jayjay1122 likes this.
  18. bubbleywine

    bubbleywine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    5


    rom manager is one of the top dled paid apps so alot of people do this and i just loaded up a rom with a wipe before and all is working on my end
     
  19. DocTauri

    DocTauri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have the leaked OTA and 2.2 on mine, wiped it last night as I ordered another one, was going to give this one to my daughter and take the new one. The wipe did not erase all data. The screens didn't go back to a default state, instead the apps were erased and generic icons sat in their place on the screens. I then loaded the apps again, but EVERY third party app (the ones that didn't come loaded on the phone) would force quit when I tried to run. Clearing the application cache and data didn't help. Finally, uninstall, then reinstall of the apps cleaned it up. Very messy...

    Doc
     
  20. lamoglinsgal

    lamoglinsgal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    115
    I wiped my X running 2.1 and everything was fine.
     
  21. SynisterWolf

    SynisterWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    27
    Then they need to change the wording in the sticky!
    "If you do, you will lose your 3G data service and you will not be able to regain it."

    Instead of creating a mass panic they should have said you "may".

    Reports of this issue have been swarming since yesterday. This has been replicated multiple times with the LG Ally, HTC Droid Eris, Motorola Droid, HTC Droid Incredible, and the Droid X

    Some one please point me to a thread or a person that has had this problem and I will be happy to admit I was wrong.

    "I am told that the highest level technicians at VZW are absolutely puzzled about what is causing this. There is nothing wrong with Verizon
     
    photographx likes this.
  22. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    A little confused!
    Not busting you, but what does this have to do with what you quoted of my post? :confused:
     
  23. inferno1

    inferno1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    10
    slighty on/off topic....
    but if Im rooted (only, no roms..etc) and I do a factory reset, will I lose root?
    thanx
    Danny
     
  24. bubbleywine

    bubbleywine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    5
    has any one had this happen?
     
  25. SynisterWolf

    SynisterWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    27

    I have not seen a post about this yet.

    Edit: if someone does have the glitch please pm me so our dev team can try to fix it. I have a lot of linx junkies here at my work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...