remove cwm


Last Updated:

  1. Rolfmao

    Rolfmao Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    OK my phone is Htc Desire and i got a problem removing cwm, removing root is easily done but thats not my problem, i heard i should remove system/bin/hijack and system/bin/logwrapper.bin but none of those exist i use Root explorer on Mode R/W i can only fin system/bin/logwrapper not even bootloader.apk is seen there. I rooted with unrevoked and been searching like everyday since christmas. I have also tried to flash but that didnt work very well.
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    What exactly are you trying to do?

    To "unroot" simply run an official HTC RUU. Its not only simple but also its the only way to do it.
     
  3. Rolfmao

    Rolfmao Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    1.i am trying to remove the clockworkmod.
    2. I remove root by going to system and delete _unrevokedsu_ or something i like that.
    3. No RUU is not the only way to remove root as i have already removed it once doing the point 2. but i added root again because cwm was still there.
     
  4. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    no RUU is the only way to properly remove root. removing the binaries only gets rid of part of it.
    you need to flash recovery and if you are s-on the only whay you can flash recovery to stock is by RUU.
     
  5. Rolfmao

    Rolfmao Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    ok, there i got a problem too it always says connection fail no matter what i do.
    and what is s-on i'am a total n00b
     
  6. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    make sure its the right RUU for your phone. dont apply an RUU that is old (usually starting with 1 is old)
    make sure htc sync is installed but ones it is installed uninstall it but leave the drivers installed
     
  7. Rolfmao

    Rolfmao Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    ok ty for the tip i will try it
    :D
     
  8. Rolfmao

    Rolfmao Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    it didnt work yet again it says connection failed
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    use the rear ports on computer. it says that if it cant see the device
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    I said to "unroot" not to "remove root". When you root, you do much more than root. You flash recovery also. RUU is the only way, trust me.
     
  11. Rolfmao

    Rolfmao Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    ok, i trust you. but how to RUU i tried some RUU's i found but they said connection failed every time i tried. i found a ruu who matched this number on my phone: 2.29.405.5 a Bravo froyo file
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Did you try rear usb port like rasta said*
     
  13. Rolfmao

    Rolfmao Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    rear ports? im not using a stationary computer i got 3 different usb ports and i've tried every1 of them, but it found my device once but then a new error accured shortly but thats 3 weeks ago
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Ok well it could be any of many issues.

    USB ports
    Drivers
    USB cable
    Phone USB socket.

    The only drivers you need should be supplied by HTC sync. Install HTC Sync, then uninstall it via CONTRL PANEL, ensuring you leave the drivers installed. Maybe that will help?!
     
  15. Rolfmao

    Rolfmao Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok i've already checked and done that.
     
  16. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    You will have to use a PB99IMG.zip instead of a RUU then.
     
  17. Rolfmao

    Rolfmao Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    will that have the same effect? and do i install it in cwm?
     
  18. Hadron

    Hadron Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17,380
    Likes Received:
    10,191
    It has same effect as RUU.

    Just put the file on the root of your sd, rename to PB99IMG.zip, and boot into hboot. The bootloader applies the update, not recovery.

    You can get a few PB99s from shipped-roms. Otherwise as SUroot says below.
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    It's an extract from a RUU. it has to be renamed exactly "PB99IMG.zip" capital letters etc... you out it on the root of your sd card and boot into hboot. Hboot detects it and asks if you want to install it.

    If shipped-roms.com doesn't have the right version for you, I can tell you how to make one
     
  20. Rolfmao

    Rolfmao Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    found this guide of what you said http://androidforums.com/desire-all...llustrated-walkover-slcd-bricked-desires.html but is the rom.zip the one i should rename or a file inside of the rom.zip?

    i would not lay out a link but because its from the same forum i did
     
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Which software version are you wanting to use? if its not available I will tell you exactly how to do it.
     
  22. Rolfmao

    Rolfmao Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    im planning to use :pB99IMG.zip and at the link i laid out it said i should find rom.zip but i dont know if its rom.zip itself or a file inside of rom.zip that i have to change the name on
     
  23. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    yes but thats the method used to flash, however we want to know which software version you want so we can tell you how to get it
     
  24. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Indeed. We will not help you any more until you answer the question
     
  25. Rolfmao

    Rolfmao Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3

Share This Page

Loading...