Remove Dialer Haptic Feedback (Vibration) Update

Last Updated:

1. DroidMike

DroidMike Member This Topic's Starter

Hello All,

I've put together an update that will remove the haptic feedback on the Eris when you press the dialer keys (it does still make the sounds though). It works great for me but I was wondering if someone else could test and let me know how it works for them.

All the credit for the method goes to JsChiSurf at xda-developers who figured out how to do this for the Hero. I just decompiled the HtcDialer apk from the latest Eris 2.1 leak (Leak 4?) and applied JsChiSurf's method to it (adding a return-void to the vibration function).

Just load the zip from your recovery image. This does not delete any of your data. However, please, please do a nandroid backup before you use this. This is my first attempt at creating this sort of thing. Comments and criticism welcome.

RemDialerHapFeedback.zip (MultiUpload)

MD5: b9f35b5ea1dda3e5bd30b998269924bf
    SHA-1: 2704e06dcb379df49c79c9f9e50f8576572d46cc

Note: If you're running a custom ROM that has done any mods to the dialer (different colors, etc) this will remove them and give you the stock dialer minus haptic feedback.

Edit: Also, here is an update that removes the vibration that occurs when a call connects. Thanks gohamstergo for the suggestion.

NoVibOnConnect.zip

MD5: a83b1b88da9ab11c60c14fe777a12d79
    SHA-1: cbe0cdb788e27b608af90c19dfc7df840c3df73b

References:
    JsChiSurf's remove haptic feedback thread: [Fixed] Htc Dialer WITHOUT Haptic Feedback - xda-developers
    If this is useful to you please stop by his thread and thank him.

Advertisement
    fritzel67 likes this.
  2. gohamstergo

gohamstergo Active Member

works fine for me on the latest leak (rooted).

one thing that id also really like is for it NOT to vibrate when a call connects. thats my main beef with the dialer because i put the phone up to my ear then it vibrates..annoying :p

thanks

3. DroidMike