Remove lock screen after 2.2?


Last Updated:

  1. Dulaney22

    Dulaney22 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    This may have been answered, or I may be too dumb enough to find it in the settings now:), but where is the option to turn off the lock screen now?
     

    Advertisement
  2. sic0048

    sic0048 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    52
  3. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    No, this was a feature Motorola put in 2.1

    Sadly, it seems it has been removed in 2.2 (or at least not present in the leaked version)
     
  4. Dulaney22

    Dulaney22 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, I guess it's gone. I couldn't remember if it was on 2.1 or Launcher Pro. Looks like I'll have to use an app for it now. Thanks
     
  5. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    This kind of sucks. I went to 2.2 with my lockscreen disabled, and now there is now way to get it back unless I put a passcode on it.

    Bummer
     
  6. Legacystar

    Legacystar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    28
    im in the same boat. there has to be a way to toggle it on and off in some system fiel somewhere.
     
  7. herbivore

    herbivore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    I really miss being able to turn off the lock screen.
    From doing a little googling, I gather that 2.2 is locked down tighter at the OS level so the ability to disable the lock screen may in fact be gone forever :(

    I don't know if I have ever been saddened by something that google has done before now.

    I get the impression that the only hope is in a version of myLock designed for root (or other similar app). Personally, I will pay $5 for such an app. Unless I lose root when the OTA rolls out, then I will wish I did not pay for it.
     
  8. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    there is a free app in the market called "no lock"
     
    linq likes this.
  9. herbivore

    herbivore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks. I gave it a try just now, and while it may work for some, it doesn't meet my needs. See I have the pin unlock set to engage after 20 minutes, and I must have that functionality. The 'no lock' app disables the whole thing.
     
  10. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Download No lock. Problem solved.
     
  11. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    already suggested that, he said that he stills need to use the pin lock
     
  12. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Well then he's SOL afaik.
     
  13. Legacystar

    Legacystar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    28
    The problem with no lock and others is that any button wakes the phone up not just the lock button and hme button
     
  14. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Never mind too late............
     
  15. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Not true. "No lock" only wakes up the phone with power or home, it is simply a toggle. All it does is not lock or lock the phone with the standard lock.

    Now some of the special lock screens, like widget locker' have options to to have other buttons wake the phone that that's usually an option in the settings.
     
  16. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    I'm confused. What do you want to unlock then? Do you have to also use the slider if you use a pin?
     
  17. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    actually with no lock all the buttons do wake up the phone, and bring you to your homescreens:)
     
  18. herbivore

    herbivore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    With 2.1 I never needed to use the slider. If I didn't turn on my phone for 20 minutes, then it would jump straight to the pin screen when I turned it on. I feel that this gave me a decent level of security in case I left my phone lying somewhere, along with the convenience of straight to home screen during times when I am using my phone a lot. So in other words, the pin could be used independently of the slider.
     
  19. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    so it does both then? Pain in the ass. The slider doesn't really offer any security its just so you don't start something while its in your pocket but I'd hate to have both.
     
  20. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Hmmmm
    Not on my phone I tried it just before I posted.

    But after doing it about 100 times I have noticed it sometimes does and sometimes doesn't. After another 100 it dawned on me the 5 second rule. If you wait for 5 second after you hit the power button it only unlocks with the home or power if you do it earlier any key unlocks it. I got the 5 second rule from Widget locker it has something to do with android not letting go for 5 seconds. Or something like that.

    Not sure how it works if I let it time out though.
     
  21. Azathot

    Azathot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think the general beef here is that the slide to unlock function can't be disabled now. I use the lock pattern unlock and some use the pin unlock. But it's annoying to have to slide that stupid thing then enter the pin or pattern. Why they took away the ability to disable that specific feature is beyond me...

    We'll see if it's back in the OTA

    Here's hoping.
     
  22. GorillaTheHutt

    GorillaTheHutt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    40
  23. alan hanson

    alan hanson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    im still running 2.1 and use the pattern lock but want to get rid of the slide down bar, getting really confused reading the above posts about it can, then got removed use no lock but then it doesnt work?

    so on 2.1 is there a setting to disable the slide down bar but keep the pattern lock?

    thanks peeps
     
  24. fibaldwin

    fibaldwin New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  25. rjoudrey

    rjoudrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    125
    When I first loaded the leaked Froyo the unlock option was working fine form my 2.1. I had to wipe my data and after that it no longer worked. Must be a switch somewhere we can throw if we are rooted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...