Remove "unlock code" ?Support


Last Updated:

  1. koldtoft

    koldtoft Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have the HTC Desire with Android 2.1

    I sync it with exchange, but it tells me I have to have a "phone unlock code" to sync with exchange.

    This more or less ruins the phone for me, as I have to type a password EVERY single time the screen locks (or go to standby).

    Only way I can see around it is forwarding all my exchange mail + syncing all my exchange contacts and my exchange calendar with g-mail, but that is a rather poor solution I think :/

    I have g-mail sync running as well, and that does not require me to have a "unlock password"

    Does anyone know a way to get around this annoying "you must have an unlock code to sync with exchange" issue?
     

    Advertisement
  2. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Is it a work email?
     
  3. koldtoft

    koldtoft Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes it is. Exchange 2007 on a Windows SBS 2008. But I have full admin access to it, if it's something I need to change on the server.

    Ps. It worked fine on my hero with the current settings (no need for unlock code on hero) but one o my work buddys have the same problem on his HTC Touch Pro 2 (with the same Exchange server)
     
  4. cnanthony

    cnanthony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    As they say "Theres an app for that"

    I had the same problem downloaded an app and it is no longer an issue.

    LockPicker works brilliantly.
     
    kaushal101 likes this.
  5. koldtoft

    koldtoft Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    OMFG epic !! Thanks a billion!

    I was afraid i had to return the phone over this issue, and I am really in love with it :D So smooth and responsive. Big Thanks. Kudos to you!
     
  6. etherial

    etherial Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for this. I was using and app called Screen Mode to stop the screen locking at all, but this is a better solution.
     
  7. kaushal101

    kaushal101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works like a charm. Many thanks.
     
  8. dlemma

    dlemma Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    I installed LockPicker as well, but cannot play with any settings, so everytime I boot the phone, the LockPicker service starts automatically.

    Apart from this minor thing, I was expecting the possibility to remove the password unlock and enable back the unlock pattern, but this latter didn't happen.

    Is there a way I can setup an unlock pattern?
    Thanks
     
  9. miasma

    miasma Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Er, why not do it properly and change the security policies server side instead of bodging together a solution requiring yet another app, since you say you're the mail server admin?
     
  10. dlemma

    dlemma Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    I guess you are not referring to my reply, so I ask it again: is there any way/app to setup the unlock pattern instead of the pw?
    Thx
     
  11. dlemma

    dlemma Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey, I found a way.:D

    I previously removed the pw trough Lock Picker.
    Then I installed from Market the widget "LockPattern OnOff", free app.
    This allowed me to define the unlock pattern and now I can enable or disable it with just 1 click.:)

    The only pity is that in the phone settings, there is still only the option to change the security password and there is no way I can change any option on the lock pattern.:(

    Any clue on a way / app to do this?
     
  12. bpedersen

    bpedersen Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am looking for the same thing. Was hoping to clear Cache, but no go.
    Just want to be able to turn it back on when needed.
     
  13. garym

    garym Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Another way to get around this is to install another app to handle exchange mail.
    I am trialling Touchdown at the moment.
    This moves the pin requirement from the screen lock to the mail app.
    Your security policy may still dictate how often you need to type in the pin though. Mine allows me to go up to an hour.
     
  14. tivo2you

    tivo2you New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    With that app does it still sync the contacts and everything?
     
  15. bpedersen

    bpedersen Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    The latest update Fixed this issue. It can now be turned on and off with no issues.
     
  16. Hippotech

    Hippotech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    11
    I use switch pro - you can control bluetooth, wifi etc as well as the locking all from a single widget.

    Hippo
     
  17. jpp111

    jpp111 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is possible to have an unlock pattern but no password, however, the unlock pattern must be enabled before the activesync/exchange email account is enabled. After the email is enabled you will have both a password and unlock pattern - simply use LockPicker to remove the password. If you already have the email account enabled, you need to remove it, turn the unlock pattern on, then re-enable your email and use LockPicker.
     
  18. mikecroy

    mikecroy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I am also using Touchdown - it has added a pin requirement for the mail app. I have removed the Android exhange synchronisation from the default mail app and from the accounts, but I still have to enter a pin every time the phone locks. Once is OK, but twice is pretty annoying. How can I remove one or the other?
    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...