removing bloatware basics


Last Updated:

  1. JamesR913

    JamesR913 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I have a captivate and really want to get rid of the AT&T crap. I have rooted and have to sdk and busy box all installed (at least I think the sdk is installed). Every time I try to


    Type in: cd _____PATH TO ANDROID SDK FOLDER______\tools
    Example: cd C:\Users\USERNAME\Desktop\android-sdk-windows\tools

    I get "The system cannot find the path specified"

    What am I doing wrong I have the android-sdk-windows folder on my desktop and went through the sdk setup.

    Is there somewhere else I should be looking for the file needed??


    Please help
     

    Advertisement
  2. Coppanuva

    Coppanuva Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    7
    Have you tried CDing one folder at a time?
     
  3. JamesR913

    JamesR913 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    nothing seems to work
     
  4. naxir

    naxir Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    4
    easy way to save yourself some time is to move the folder to C:/... say C:/androidsdk

    notice that there's no spaces in the title. spaces must have quotes put around the path name. for example, typing:
    cd C:\Program Files\sdk

    will make the computer try to change to the directory C:\Program, the space delineates the argument. the proper way to do that is:
    cd "C:\Program Files\sdk"

    Once you have the whole path thing figured out, I suggest adding it to the path environmental variable so that you no longer have to deal with it. In windows 7:
    right click on computer/my computer >> properties >> advanced settings (on the left) >> advanced tab >> environmental variables.

    on the bottom is a list of system variables, select Path. You'll see a list of different directories separated by semi-colons. add it into the list and make sure there's a ; in between the surrounding paths. mine looks like this:
    C:\android\tools;c:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;%SYSTEMROOT%\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\Program Files (x86)\QuickTime\QTSystem\;C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\

    after you do that, you no longer have to enter the tools folder in order to run any executable within it. i.e. you can be in a directory full of .apk's and just type adb install fubar.apk.

    hope that helps.
     
  5. ~Reaper~

    ~Reaper~ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    13
    use titanium backup and delete them

    easy easy!!!!
     
  6. JamesR913

    JamesR913 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    are there any consequences of using the titanium method?
     

Share This Page

Loading...