Removing Bloatware from AT&T Note 3Tips


Last Updated:

  1. xenonsupra

    xenonsupra Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    27
    I am an iPhone user who has preordered the Note III. It will be my first android device after using 6 iPhones and multiple iPads.

    I'm curious what the best ways are to go about removing any bloatware that comes preinstalled on the device. I am not looking to root the phone but would like to clean it up a bit and get it running as fast as possible.

    Thanks for the help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Scootmien

    Scootmien Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    362
    Unfortunately, if you aren't looking at rooting the device, the best thing you can do is to stop, disable and hide the apps from the screen. the only way to remove apps is by rooting and even then care must be taken that removal of one app doesn't break device functionality in some way as some pre-installed apps are linked.
     
    zendroid and xenonsupra like this.
  3. xenonsupra

    xenonsupra Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    27
    Thanks.

    So from what I've read this is my best option for cleaning things up....

    Settings -> Applications Manager
    Uninstall Updates
    Restore to Factory Version
    Disable
     
  4. zendroid

    zendroid Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    53
    My concern would be that it removes all updates, not just those for carrier apps...

    Comments anyone?
     
  5. marc12868

    marc12868 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,460
    Likes Received:
    850
    It only does it for the app selected... So it would have to be done on each one no chance of it doing it for non carrier bloatware unless you go into that app...
     
    zendroid likes this.
  6. zendroid

    zendroid Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    53
    Not having done this before, I found upon trying, that one must select the individual app first. That makes perfect sense. I disabled a few, but not all AT&T apps as somewhere I read to be careful as some might affect others that are needed for proper operation. So far so good :)

    Thanks
     
  7. meat1968

    meat1968 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    what about installing an unbranded firmware via odin
     
  8. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4,909
    Likes Received:
    2,460
    Is there one?
     

Share This Page

Loading...