• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Removing Kingoroot

TimmayJones

Aug 15, 2015
I am removing Kingoroot on my LG Volt and am going to get SuperSU, what do I need to do with my apps that require root during the time that the phone is unrooted? Will they remain intact if I simply stop them? Xposed and Busy Box are the ones that worry me most (I'm a relative noob), those 2 look like they're pretty deep into the OS (again, I'm probably not using correct terminology in some instances here, the noob is strong with this one :p ) Any help would be appreciated.

Sounds like you're going to be using SuperSU-Me, correct?

If so, your current root apps (other than the King* root apps) will remain untouched and unchanged.

You'll have to re-authorize those app's access to root when they request root access--i.e., you'll get a prompt from SuperSU instead of the King* root version of SuperSU.

Cheers!

Reactions: TimmayJones
Upvote 0
Okay, I got SuperSume on my phone, everything was going fine until I rebooted and lost root. I still have King Root on it and it wants me to update the binaries. At this point, would it be better for me to go with a different rooting app? I'm not exactly enamored with Kingoroot, this might be a good point from which to change apps I think?

Upvote 0
Not sure...did your interaction with SuperSU-Me look like what the video from the Play Store description?

The video showed all of the King-related root apps were gone after SuperSu-Me was run even without having rebooted.

The guys (and gals :)) over in the LG Volt root area might have some specific advice for you...lemme know if you'd like me to move your thread over there.

Upvote 0
Not sure...did your interaction with SuperSU-Me look like what the video from the Play Store description?

The video showed all of the King-related root apps were gone after SuperSu-Me was run even without having rebooted.